RunLog 11/19/11 – A Day of Rest

I decided to take the day off from running today, it is one of those things that most runners just need to do.  Adding those days of rest in are necessary and needed to allow your body to recover a little bit from running.

I have been bitching and whining about how tired I am and the knee is feeling a little cranky, so it is time for a rest day. When I look back over my logs and see a lot of whining, then I know it is time for a rest day.

We went for a 2.5 mile walk this morning and I told TheWife that I was going to run when we got back, but on the way back, I got to thinking and decided it was time to take a day off. I just didn’t have a lot of energy.

It is tough to take a day off though, especially when you haven’t run regularly for such a long time and just want to do it every day.

My mind is going “come on we can do one more day, we just need to do 2.0 miles and just think how much better you will feel after we do it”. My body is going, “give it a break, I need the rest, to recuperate and now that I am doing better, we can do it tomorrow“.  Today the body won and you know what I do agree with the body it is time for a rest day.

I think I did pretty good though, I had run 10 days in a row and felt pretty good for most of them and set several annual PRs this week.

The only thing about not running today is that I probably won’t get to 20.0  miles this week, but you know something that is okay, because it is more important for me to keep running than it is to reach some artificial mileage total for a week. I am in this for the long haul, not for some short-term goal, I still want to be running 30 years from now, so in the long-run taking a day off every 10-13 days is a good thing.

Today the body needs the day off.

Originally written by Harold Shaw or Mary Shaw and published at One Foot In Reality, © 2011 – All Rights Reserved. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Harold Shaw or Mary Shaw and One Foot In Reality with appropriate and specific directions or links to the original content.

Enhanced by Zemanta
I moderate all comments, if it is inappropriate it will not be published.

