Back to A Veteran Runnah and Why

Azure Theme Screenshot 12/2/

During the past month, I have been writing a lot about running over at “One Foot In Reality“, in fact writing about running is pretty much dominating what I have been writing about there.

When I started really running again at the end of October, we decided to include all of my running related posts there, not realizing how much I would be writing about running, when I wrote the post – No I don’t Need a Niche Blog for Running.

Writing about running was not the purpose of that “OFIR”, which is for my wife and I to write about our adventures in early retirement, living simply and a little about health, with a bit about running.

After only a month of including running in my writing at “One Foot In Reality”, I have decided to move writing about running back to its own niche blog here on “A Veteran Runnah”.
Why

When I was doing the November Monthly Review post for OFIR yesterday (which I still haven’t finished), I really saw how much I have written about running.  We had 71 blog posts in November and only 16 were not in some way related to writing about running.

Talk about dominating the blog and running surely did for November.

Changing Focus

It was pretty clear that if I continued to write about running, at that pace it would change the focus of “One Foot In Reality” to a running blog. Which wasn’t and isn’t the plan for OFIR. In order to keep the focus of “OFIR” where we originally wanted it something had to change.

Resurrection

Based on those realizations, I can see that I was wrong about not needing a niche blog for running. After November’s flurry of writing about running, it is fairly obvious that I do.  Last night I went around looking for a relatively simple theme that I liked and resurrected “A Veteran Runnah”. Then I transferred most of my running related posts to here and am going to use it as my running blog, I still have a few more posts to transfer from earlier running related posts, but that will happen as I can get to it.

It will take a while to get the readership up to the level of One Foot In Reality, but that is part of the fun and challenge of blogging, to see a new blog grow and prosper.

Welcome Back

So welcome back to A Veteran Runnah. This is and will be my running blog that will focus on my trials, tribulations and triumphs as a runner.  Oh I imagine that there will be a cross-post or two about running to One Foot In Reality and some stuff that isn’t really running related cross-posted from OFIR to A Veteran Runner, just to show that I do more than run.

If you were following me at One Foot In Reality for my running related posts, please update your RSS feeds or reader to A Veteran Runnah or Follow me using the Google Follower widget on the sidebar.

Wish me luck on this new blog and I hope that you continue reading about my adventures in running.

Originally written by Harold Shaw published at Veteran Runner © 2011 – All Rights Reserved. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Harold Shaw and Veteran Runner with appropriate and specific directions or links to the original content.

Enhanced by Zemanta
I moderate all comments, if it is inappropriate it will not be published.

