Day Off Helped a Lot – 12/12/11

The Finish at the mailbox!!

Yesterday I took a day off from running and it showed today, when I ran my long course. I had more zip and spring in my step and didn’t have that tired, sluggish feeling that I had had in some of my runs last week.

Yes I broke a 21 day running streak, but the old body needed the rest more than it needed to continue the streak. 🙂
It was a beautiful day outside!!!! 40F when I started, bright sunshine and only a 10 mph breeze out of the south. The first three miles I really focused on running standing tall, with a slight forward lean, keeping my arms lower, having a back and forth motion instead of my usual side-to-side one, never fully extending my legs, shortening my stride and land more on my forefoot.

This is how I used to run when I wasn’t in a short race and what I learned in my glory days back in 85 & 86 from some very good runners back then.  Trying to recapture this form is what I have tried to do for the past month, even before I went to the Chi Running site and seems very similar to the method they advocate there. So I will look more at their site and read the book (once Christmas gets here), to learn more about what they recommend and offer.

However, the form changes are starting to work! I went through the first mile in 8:19 without even trying and through the 5.5 course mark in 48:31 which would have been a minute faster than my previous best times for that course. I still have some trouble focusing on maintaining the new form when I get past mile 4.0, (getting tired by that point) but that is a lot better than it was.

Quality of run: Very Good
Weight: 175
Time of Day: 11:00 A.M.
Temp: 40F
Weather: Bright sunshine, 10 mph breeze out of the South

🙂 Keep smiling and good things will happen!

Originally written by Harold Shaw published at “A Veteran Runnah” © 2011 – All Rights Reserved. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Harold Shaw and A Veteran Runnah” with appropriate and specific directions or links to the original content.

Enhanced by Zemanta
I moderate all comments, if it is inappropriate it will not be published.

