2011 and Beyond – My Running in the Future

I have written about my experiences as a runner in my 40 Years of Running Series and I can think of no better way to end this series than to look to the future.

Today is time to set goals related to running and look forward.

What are the biggest things that I want to begin to accomplish in 2012 or beyond?

First 

That’s easy – just be able to run when I want to. 

No pain, major injuries and no minor ones that interfere with my running. That is the biggest thing I want to accomplish this year.

If I do that I will consider 2012 very successful indeed.

Second

Change and improve my running form.

Since mid December 2011, I have worked on improving my running form from this inefficient style to one that I keep my feet straight, use a mid-foot/forefoot strike, run tall, my arms at 90 degrees, not crossing the center line, with my thumbs on top, with a slight forward lean, while being relaxed. This is how I ran in the mid 80’s and unfortunately, over the years I lost that good form.

I have read Chi Running, watched PRS Videos (easy running), looked at the Pose Method and am very interested in Barefoot/Natural Running as different examples of developing good running form. I know what I am looking for in my form and probably could figure it out myself, but I want to see/read other people’s theories and practices to see if they can help me improve what I do.

For far too long, I forgot to look at what others are doing. I can save a lot time and wasted effort i.e. stop trying to re-invent the wheel and use the knowledge that others have already learned to make it easier for me to improve. That is why I have started reading running books and blogs so much. There is a wealth of knowledge out there, that is available to us, so we don’t have to reinvent the wheel.

Third

Re-engage in the social aspect of running.

What do I mean by that?

Since 1987, I have basically been an individual runner who isolated himself from runners. I just ran without communicating or talking very much with other runners (except to go to a running store once in a while or if someone ran that I worked with we would talk running). When I was doing what I now call isolation running, I didn’t have a support network of runners around me when things were not going well or I was an injured, there were not others who understood what I was going through, which would have definitely helped in a lot of situations.

In November I began to start participating in the online running communities via Twitter and Google+, these efforts have led to an increased involvement in the running communities and making contact with so many other great people, who just happen to be runnahs too. I had forgotten how supportive the running community was/is and want to stay an active part of this community for a long time.

I want to find a local running group or club to go beyond just the online support system that I am developing. Really I think this is the part that I miss the most is being able to run with someone beyond TheWife and enjoy their company and the friendships that develop out of the shared running.

Fourth

Also I want to continue to grow the  “A Veteran Runnah” blog/brand. To be blunt, see if I can make any extra money from writing “heah”.  An additional stream of funds would be a welcome addition to our fixed income.

This is very intriguing to me – to see what happens. I strongly believe and think that being selected a FitFluential Ambassador will be a big help in this respect and give me opportunities that I would not have had otherwise.

It would be nice if Veteran Runnah could grow to help support some of my running habit. This may never happen, but I need to try to see what will happen.

Time will tell on this one. 🙂

What would be perfect if a small Running Store opened up in the local area and I could get a job there part-time (but then I would really be broke all the time).

However, I am not going to become one of those spammy blogs or bloggers who uses every opportunity to sell or push something onto my readers. I don’t like those blogs and will not put “A Veteran Runnah” into that category.

Fifth

I want to start racing again and not just virtually.

I want to line up at the starting line and compete with real people, while I may not be very competitive in my age group or overall.  I just feel the need to challenge myself beyond just going out my front door and start running – for the first time in a long time.

It goes back to the social part of running and when you race, you share in the comradiere before, during and after the race is over. Share a beer or two, swap a few lies, but most of all make friends with people who share your passion – running.

Unfortunately, with the cost of race fees, I may have to go back to work in order run some of these races. The entry fees are just slightly intimidating to someone on a fixed budget.

Anyone want to sponsor a slow, old guy, who writes a lot?

Hehehehe yeah right. But if you do use the contact me button. I will be sure to get back to you. 😉

The reality is that 

that while these can be measured – they are much more holistic goals and are meant to be for 2012 and beyond. They also give me a lot of flexibility to move forward and change as needed to keep moving forward.

2012 Goals

What are my measurable goals for 2012?

  • Run at least a total of 1,200 miles in 2012
  • Run at least 330 days in 2102
  • Run a 5K sub 20:00 minutes sometime after 8/6/12 (this is my pie-in-the-sky goal)
  • Weigh less than 155 pounds on my 55th birthday (I weighed in at 172 today)
  • Run at least 4 races in 2012
  • Join a local running club in 2012

Those are my measurable annual goals. While I could include smaller interim goals that would help me have little successes or checkpoints along the way, that would make this look way too much like an IEP. Which bring back too many memories of when I was a Special Education Teacher. These goals just don’t have all the excess legalese and verbage.

2012

2012 has the potential to a great year for running and with the running community’s (local and online) help, along with the support of TheWife – it will be.

Now its time for my 5 miler to Notta Road. Where did I put those damn running shoes, oh damn why is there mud everywhere (TheWife is going to have a hissy), ah here they are. Darn I never cleaned the mud off them after the other day’s mud run, what other shoes should I run in? Ah hell I’ll just knock the mud off of them outside and put them on the step, the mud will be gone by the time I get back :-).

Thank you everyone for a great 2011 and even more for the opportunity to get to know you better in 2012.

Keep smiling and good things will happen! 🙂

Originally written by Harold Shaw published at “A Veteran Runnah” © 2011 – All Rights Reserved. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Harold Shaw and A Veteran Runnah” with appropriate and specific directions or links to the original content.

Enhanced by Zemanta
I moderate all comments, if it is inappropriate it will not be published.

