Are You a Creature of Habit?

We are such creatures of habit.

Do you have a certain daily routine that you follow and when you are not able to follow it, you feel stressed out because of it.

I am very lucky my daily routine has evolved into a pretty consistent and comfortable one, where I go at my pace, while continuing to get a lot done.

This morning I had to get up at 5:30 A.M. to make sure that I got to the hospital for my Dad’s procedure. So everything felt rushed and hurried, until around 9:00 when I was able to sit down in the cafe, while Dad was in the operating room.

What is my daily routine?

Wake up between 7:00 and 7:30 A.M., talk about what has to be accomplished during the day and then I get up and do my morning weigh-in (something I find that I need to do as a part of my personal accountability).

After that I take Bennie for his first walk of the Day, about a mile. Actually I look forward to this walk, it gives me a chance to clear the cobwebs, see what the weather is outside and have a little time to myself.

When we get back, I prepare breakfast – it is something I can cook :-). Since I retired I think there have only been 3 days that I haven’t had this meal.

  • 1/4 cup Oatmeal
  • 1tsp of Cinnamon & Ginger
  • 1/4 cup blueberries
  • 1 tbs Honey
  • a Banana
  • black coffee.

See I told you it was an easy meal to prepare – one that I can handle.  Yes I am boring, but this is something that I like and haven’t gotten tired of it yet.

I sit talk with TheWife, check email, look at Twitter, Facebook, Google+, etc., comment on blogs I have read and begin writing the first blog post of the day. Sometime between 9:30 and 10:00 we decide who is going on Bennie’s long walk and do morning chores. Bennie’s long walk usually is around 3 miles. If I don’t go on the walk, I continue working on the blog post and then go for my run. If go on the walk I run after lunch.

Lunch is usually right around noon and consists of a salad and leftovers from whatever we had the night before with a cup of green tea. Yes I help with the prep work, especially when the garden is going and we have fresh from the garden salads.

After lunch is when we usually do chores or work that is needed around the house. If everything is caught up I do my RunLog blog post, check my social media sites. Do a run around 2:00 if I didn’t in the morning.

Somewhere around 4:30 we clean-up and get ready for supper. TheWife usually cooks and I try to stay out-of-the-way. Depending upon the time we finish, I either help with cleanup or do Bennie’s last 1/2 mile walk.

The rest of the evening, I am working on the blog, doing something with social media, reading and relaxing.

Usually we are in bed between 10:00 and 11:00.

This is a very flexible and low-key schedule with a bit of free time to relax a little, that has developed over the last six months. I have grown comfortable and accustomed to it and when I have to change it, I feel a little out of sorts.

The reality is that 

I know that I am very lucky that my retirement allows me to have this level of flexibility, but how about you – do you have a daily schedule that you generally keep and when you have to change it, does it throw you out of sorts?

Do you just go with the flow of the day if your regular schedule changes or do you get all frazzled and stressed, especially if you can’t fit your run in.

Yes I packed my running stuff and after I leave the hospital today I plan to go for a run. How far will depend on how stressed I am when I leave. I am hoping it will only be the scheduled 4.0, but after being in a hospital most of the day, you never know, I might need more.

Keep smiling and good things will happen! 🙂

Originally written by Harold Shaw published at “A Veteran Runnah” © 2011 – All Rights Reserved. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Harold Shaw and A Veteran Runnah” with appropriate and specific directions or links to the original content.

Enhanced by Zemanta
2 comments on “Are You a Creature of Habit?

  1. I was a firm staunch creature of habit—-until our daughter.Shes been a gift in myriad ways but teaching me to gooooooooo with whatever the FLOW is has been one of the biggest.

  2. Kids will do that to you, I remember how mine affected my schedule and running :-). We are pretty much are able to now just have a regular schedule and when it gets disrupted, it seems to bother me more than it used to. Getting old and set in my ways 🙂

I moderate all comments, if it is inappropriate it will not be published.

