Switching to WordPress.com

I am going to cut straight to it – here is my big announcement.

I have moved my blog from Blogger to WordPress.com.

What are you doing Shaw?

Harold weren’t you the original Blogger fanboy who always said so many good things about how flexible it was and how you liked it so much. Yep – that was me. I still think that Blogger is a fine Blogging platform, but I haven’t been happy with the looks of “A Veteran Runnah” when I used the Blogger Themes.

I have searched through over a thousand of the downloadable Blogger templates, finding around 50 that I have attempted to “go live” with on the blog.  Unfortunately, all the themes that I liked after viewing them on the blog have either had or developed problems.

It doesn’t really matter what the issue were, I don’t have the technical ability to fix them. It seemed like I was spending a great deal of time working on my themes, instead of writing posts – which is what I really want to do – just write.

I don’t want to have to mess around with re-coding, de-bugging a freemium theme or having the blog linking to sites that I don’t want it to.  I know – you get what you pay for.

That is why today I switched to WordPress.com. No I didn’t go the self-hosted route, after the fiasco I had with that the last time, I am simply not ready to try it again – at this time. Plus the costs of a self-hosted, plus a premium theme were not in the budget.

Benefits of moving to WordPress.com?

  1. I now have http://aveteranrunnah.com/ as my URL, to match my Blog’s name, so it will be easier to find me.
  2. The themes look better to me and although the choices are more limited, I have found a few that I really like and can dress them up enough to make them mine.
  3. The themes work and I don’t have to mess around with coding or de-bugging the theme for problems. I can just report it and it magically gets fixed :-).
  4. The blogwriter is superior in WordPress.com.
  5. Another reason that I acted so swiftly is because “A Veteran Runnah” was only a couple of months old and it was starting getting a little bit of traction, it is easy to do a move while the blog is relatively new than if it were more established.
  6. Blogging is what WordPress does, it is not just a minor part of a large Corporation.

There are others, but those are 4 major reasons that I switched.  What do I lose by making this switch – STATs, my pageviews will go down for a while until my readers get used to it and the search engines recognize the change.

Changing your blog host is a lot of work.

While importing the posts was very easy, now I have to go back and re-do all of my links to make sure they work correctly.

Ensure all the settings are correct.

Go to the Google and Bing Webmaster and Google Analytics sites to ensure they start indexing my new blog.

Add the WordPress.com site to Feedburner

Select the proper widgets

Get a header I can live with until I get a chance to create a really good one for “A Veteran Runnah”.

Along with a bunch of little things that you don’t think about until something you need or want is not there.

I will miss

The biggest thing that I am going miss is the ability to put Adsense on my blog. Not that is really a big deal, after 4 years of blogging, I am just over half-way to the Google disbursement level, it would only take another 2-3 years to reach it at the pace I was going. 🙂

The reality is that

while it was nice to think that I was making a few dollars a month or so, it was really a non-concern as part of the move and I have a feeling that some readers will like the ad-free look.

If I had waited any longer moving “A Veteran Runnah” would have only gotten more difficult.  It came down to do it now, if I am going to do it all.

Now that I have made the switch to WordPress.com – it is time to just write.

Originally written by Harold Shaw published at “A Veteran Runnah” © 2011 – All Rights Reserved. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Harold Shaw and A Veteran Runnah” with appropriate and specific directions or links to the original content.
Enhanced by Zemanta
6 comments on “Switching to WordPress.com

  1. I’m probably going to be right behind you in this move. I’ve been tinkering around with WordPress for a few days now and while there are definitely some things that are easier on Blogger the overall look-and-feel of WordPress seems so much nicer.

    • I have gone back and forth between the two for the past four years and each has its own strengths, for what I am trying to do with this blog WordPress.com meets my needs better than Blogger does. I do like the looks of WordPress better and the control panel gives you easier management once you get used to where things are and some of the little quirks that WordPress has. Let me know if you do and I will update my feeds to make sure that I keep reading your blog.

  2. Wow… I never thought I would see the day you left Blogger 😉

    I’m enjoying reading about your running experiences, and will look forward to your exploration of the WP themes!

    • Hi David – I didn’t either, but Blogger just wouldn’t do what I wanted it to and I was having problems with the freemium themes, so I just decided to do it! I do like the results and will probably move to self-hosted at some point in the future. I just want to get used to WordPress a little more and am a bit gun-shy after my last bad self-hosting experience back in 2008. 🙂

  3. Pingback: How Did the Move to WordPress.com Go? « A Veteran Runnah

  4. Pingback: AVR Week In Review – 1/29/12 « A Veteran Runnah

I moderate all comments, if it is inappropriate it will not be published.

