Answering 20 Questions About Me

Since I recently changed blog hosts and have also met a lot of new people on social media sites over the past couple of months – I thought that some people might want to know a little more about me.

The “20 Questions” survey that Brittany posted at GOtheXtraMile Thursday’s Things post was where I got these questions.

More to let people know that I am a real person, not just a “bot” ;-).

1) What is one of your favorite ways to spend a Saturday?

Other than going for a run and spending time outside. I love to go on walks and hikes with TheWife and my dog Bennie

2) List your top three favorite TV shows.

Actually I don’t really watch that much TV, we ditched all but basic cable last year. Probably watching NFL Football, Person of Interest and Grimm would be my top 3 and I don’t do that very regularly. I tend to like sports, but without the cable stations I haven’t been able to watch much NBA (the Celtics) this year and I know that I will miss being able to sit and watch/listen to the Red Sox this summer.

3) Would you rather be in pictures or take them?

I would rather take the pictures, I don’t like breaking cameras too often. But really I do enjoy being able to look back at myself and see the changes (good and bad) from then to now.  So a little of both.

4) Why do you blog?

To leave behind a bit of myself – a legacy of who I am for my grand children and others who think they know me or would like to know me.

Anther reason is that I enjoy writing and sharing things I have learned over my life.

Finally, when I decided to write a blog that focuses on running, I have to walk-the-walk, I can’t sit on the sidelines and not run and still write about it. By blogging about running I have felt like running more, more willing to try new running ideas/equipment, get back into racing and join a running club.

The support from the online running community since I started being active in it and publicly writing about my running has been phenomenal.

5) Share five websites you visit regularly…

  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Google+
  • Pinterest
  • WordPress.com

along with: gReader/gMail/gCal/gDocs/YouTube

6) If you could have lunch with one person from your Twitter list who would it be?

Kelly Olexa – CEO of FitFluential, I have learned much from her over the past 2 months.

There are so many people who I have met through social media that I would love to me face-to-face and hope to have lunch with someday.

7) List a few of your favorite snacks.

TheWife’s homemade muffins, Apples, Grapes, Cherries, Potato Chips (I have to really, really limit myself on these) and coffee ice cream. I eat good most of the time, but there are some comfort foods that just come around and make me go “mmmmmm”

8 ) Do you have a pet? If so, what kind?

We have a Jack Russell Terrier who has been described with words like ADHD on crack, headstrong, stubborn and a mind of his own. He is a 5.0 mile a day dog, if he doesn’t have a least five miles of activity, he will drive you absolutely bonkers.

We also have 4 cats down from a high of 6 that we had for several years.

9) Which three material possessions would you struggle to live without?

  • Vehicle – we live in a rural area without any public transportation
  • MacBook Pro Laptop – My connection to outside world
  • Running Shoes – I love to try different running shoes and until recently had a closet full of them.

10) What’s your favorite drink?

I have 4

  • Coffee
  • Green Tea
  • Merlot Wine
  • Samuel Adams OctoberFest (goes great with pizza)

However, one cup or glass (not a bottle of the wine) is usually my limit.

11) Do you enjoy cooking?

Not really, I can cook and follow directions, but have evolved into the clean-up detail. Although I make a mean Oatmeal for breakfast most days.

12) Do you have children?

Yes 2 daughters, 2 step-daughters, 3 grandsons and soon a granddaughter

13) What are your favorite hobbies?

Running isn’t really a hobby it is part of my lifestyle.  My favorite hobbies are: reading, archery, role-playing games like NeverWinter Nights 2 and when I find time flat water kayaking.

14) Would you consider yourself shy or outgoing?

In crowds I am pretty shy and quiet (I can hear some going “yeah right”), unless I know the group then I open up a little. As I have gotten older, I let others have center stage and I watch/listen a lot more than I used to.

15) If you could change one thing about yourself, what would you change?

Improve my self-confidence. I am good at a lot of stuff, but sometimes I get to thinking too much and comparing myself to how others do something. This is something I have worked on for a long time, but every once in a while it bites me square in the butt.

16) Who is your favorite actor/ actress?

Actor: Johnny Depp
Actress: Goldie Hawn – Liked her even back in the “Laugh-In” days.

17) What’s the coolest thing you’ve done this week?

I am basically a pretty boring person and live a quiet life. On Monday I ran 8.0 miles and felt really good about it.

18) Do you live near your family or far from them?

I live about an hour from where I grew up and most of my family still lives up there. My daughters live in Minnesota and California, so I don’t get to see them much.

19) List three of your talents.

I can teach people who hate learning to learn (10 years as a very good Special Education teacher)

I can shoot a bow pretty well.

I am computer savvy – Mac or PC

20) What is your greatest attribute?

My quirky sense of humor, it has gotten me through a lot of tough situations – when I was in the military, as a behavior tech and special education teacher working with “troubled” teens and now as a blogger.  Looking at a situation through a different perspective, finding something good about it and being able to laugh at yourself, really can put people at ease, as well as diffuse an intense situation or make people smile.

I can be rather blunt and call things pretty much as I see them. However, I have learned how to be blunt tactfully thanks to one of my bosses in the military who didn’t appreciate non-tactful bluntness.

I tend to say what I mean and mean what I say – and yes damn-it the glass is half-full :-).

Finishing up

That gives you quick glimpse into who I am. I did decide to retire early to do things that interest me and explore new opportunities in those areas.  Eventually I would like to find something to supplement my income, but would like it to be something running/fitness/social media related :-).

If you are reading this consider yourself tagged and go ahead and answer the 20 questions then link back so I can see how you answered them. It does make you stop and think about things for a minute.

Originally written by Harold Shaw published at “A Veteran Runnah” © 2011 – All Rights Reserved. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Harold Shaw and A Veteran Runnah” with appropriate and specific directions or links to the original content.
Enhanced by Zemanta
4 comments on “Answering 20 Questions About Me

  1. Pingback: AVR Week In Review – 1/29/12 « A Veteran Runnah

  2. Pingback: AVR – January 2012 in Review « A Veteran Runnah

I moderate all comments, if it is inappropriate it will not be published.

