Snowmobile Trail Running – 2/1/12

I was planning on the same hill workout that I did last week, however, the roads were too nasty to consider doing any kind of speed workout today.


Add a little freezing rain on top of this a little later :(.

What did I do?

I ran 5.0 miles on the snowmobile trails in back of my house. It was the hardest 5.0 miles I have run in a long, long time!

This morning we walked Bennie almost 4.0 miles on the trails just to see what kind of shape they were in. We were surprised about how good shape they were and the walking wasn’t too bad. While out there, TheWife and I talked over if it would be a good day to do the trails, because the roads were in such bad shape this morning.Β  Personally I prefer to do trails over road running in the first place and my body has done really well, so that is what I decided to run after lunch. Here are some photos of the snowmobile trail and the conditions a few hours I ran on them.

Snowmobile trail to Bartlet Road 1

Snowmobile trail to Bartlet Road - 2

Snowmobile trail to Bartlet Road - 3

Snowmobile trail to Bartlet Road - 4

Snowmobile trail to Bartlet Road - My Favorite

The only problem was when we walked it was 25F degrees and when I ran it was 35F degrees. This 10 degree difference, made a huge difference in the footing on the snowmobile trail. Instead of grippy snow, I was running in slippery snow all the way out and back. Plus in place where we just walked I would sink in. The best I can equate it to is running way above the tide line on a beach, only it was slippery with ice underneath in many places.

Elevation-Speed for RunLog 2-1-12

I was almost smart, I didn’t try for any speed records, I just plugged along and sped up wherever I could and just enjoyed being on the trail. One part I wish that I had a video of me falling. I started going a lot faster in one section going down a small hill, which meant I was hitting a little harder and the next thing I knew I was eating snow – my left foot had gone through and laid me out.Β  It was a good wipe-out. I looked around to see what had tackled me laughed when I saw a big hole in the snow behind me. No injuries just part of trail running πŸ™‚

When I got back to the Disc Golf Course hill, it was a pain in the butt, but I survival shuffled to the top, no worrying about cadence on that thing today, but damn it I made it to the top without stopping.

Like I said tough, tough run, first time that my Green Turtle jacket was soaked through! I had worked up a sweat and then some.

Quality of Run: Tough, but very good
Time of Run: 2:30 P.M.
Temp: 35F
Weather: Overcast

Today’s Walking Total: 4.3

Enhanced by Zemanta
9 comments on “Snowmobile Trail Running – 2/1/12

    • I know that tonight I am tired though, that was a tougher workout than I was ready for, but I did it πŸ™‚ During week days up here not too many snowmobiles out, they are only around on weekends. Wouldn’t do on weekend. πŸ™‚

    • I was at Pensacola for 3 weeks in Jun/July it was tough to run at lunch, but I did back then πŸ™‚ Wouldn’t do it now though, a little bit smarter πŸ˜‰

  1. Pingback: AVR Week In Review – 1/29/12 « A Veteran Runnah

  2. Pingback: Who is the Running Minimalism Dummy Now? « A Veteran Runnah

  3. Pingback: AVR – Week in Review 3-4-12 « A Veteran Runnah

  4. Pingback: AVR – Running Week in Review 3-11-12 « A Veteran Runnah

  5. Pingback: March 2012 The Running Month Reflection « A Veteran Runnah

I moderate all comments, if it is inappropriate it will not be published.

