First Run in New Balance Minimus Trail 20

New Balance Minimus Trail 20

This morning I got to try out my New Balance Minimus Trail 20 shoes. How did it go?

The first run

For the first run in a completely different kind of running shoe, it went very well.

The first mile I was focusing pretty hard on running completely forefoot and getting used to the feel of the shoe. The forefoot striking was causing some aches and pains in my left calf (the one I strained on last Friday’s snowmobile trail run), so I went to a more of a ChiRunning whole foot strike, which really seemed to make a huge difference with these shoes. Continue reading

Unexpected Running Shoe Shopping

New Balance Minimus Trail 20

I have researched what my next pair of running shoes would be for the past couple of weeks and had a good list of shoes that I thought would meet my needs very well. Which I discussed in my Narrowed the Choices Down to 5 Running Shoes post. Sometimes you have to throw your plan out the window and go with Plan B, that is what happened to me.

Oh Crap

During my recovery run down-back yesterday, my left heel started to get a blister from the hole in my of Saucony Peregrines, it was more a question of when, not if I would get a blister.

I was afraid that this might happen, before I could get down to Portland, Maine (not Oregon) and check out all of those shoes on my list. Continue reading

I Saw Mud Down-Back – A Sign of Spring?

Today was just a slow recovery run after yesterday’s 8+ run. I ran down-back to Bartlett Rd and came back up and added Howard Circle to give me a good 3+ run.

The footing was getting a little treacherous down there, because there is still ice on the road, with a surface layer of melted snow/ice that is turning to slush, along with short stretches of mud. So it is slightly challenging and you have to pay attention to where you put your feet. Continue reading