AVR – Week in Review 2-12-12

This was a very busy week and a one that I have learned a lot. It started out great and ended with a thump. However, I still have a positive outlook and while I have hit a couple of speed bumps this, I feel that I have learned some important lessons and will carry them forward in both my blogging and my running.

The light at the end of the Winter tunnel is glowing a little brighter, but as I write this post it is only around 12º F, but the sun is shining brightly beckoning me to go out and do a long run. Unfortunately, this is day 3 of my 4-5 days of self-imposed no running time to let my left calf heal after re-aggravating it last week. So I will do some weights in the garage and go walk for an easy couple instead of a run.

Running This Week

RunLog Week of 2/12/12

Three things Running this week

Injury – Yes I re-aggravated my calf strain that I originally did on my snowmobile trail run over a week ago, by a dumb training mistake. I got new minimalist shoes and instead of taking the time to transition to wearing them slowly, I did two fairly tough 3.+ mile high cadence runs in them the first two days I had them. Dumb, but survivable.

It just means that I will be patient, let the leg heal again before I go back to running. What is frustrating is that this was a very preventable injury and that I didn’t listen to my body, when it said enough is enough – I continued to push through the discomfort and ended up on the beach for a few days. Lessons learned and my streak of over 20 miles a week was broken, unless I sneak out and do an easy 2.5 later today in my Peregrines :-).

New Running Shoes – I purchased the New Balance Minimus Trail 20 running shoes Tuesday night. They were not on my top 5 list of shoes that I wanted to try/buy, but unfortunately, my Peregrines were starting to blister my heal and I knew I was going to need the new shoes.

I wanted to try the new shoes on before purchasing them, instead of taking a chance ordering online and it was going to cost a lot more to make a road trip south. Unfortunately, the shoe selection in my area is limited. So I got a pair of minimalist shoes that I probably should have waited until next time for. However, I will start the transition to wearing them correctly this week and I do like how they feel on my feet and when I run in them, so I think it in the long run will be the right choice. Time will tell on this one.

Cadence Work – This is something that I really want to work on is increasing my cadence to over 90/180 for regular runs, I did two cadence workouts this week (with the MT20s) and I was in the 87-89 range for those workouts, so I know I can do it.  I just have to keep working at being more consistent about it.

Racing Schedule

I started a Google Calendar – Running In Maine 2012 with a lot of the dates of races in Maine during 2012, I am not done yet, but I have made it public and if I have missed one, please let me know, so I can add it. 🙂

Goals

This year my big goals are to run 1,200 miles, run a sub 20:00 5K and get through 2012 without any significant down time or injuries (running related or others).  My unadvertised goals from the start of the year are to be able to finish a half-marathon (notice I said finish not race) and run a few trail races when the weather gets better.

My long-term goal will be to run the 2013 Marine Corps Marathon. I finished the 1983 Marathon and to run/finish Marine Corps again 30 years later would be very cool. This is one of the major goals that I have in mind for my running and it would be even more fantastic if I could qualify for Boston that same day. Therefore, I am doing a 2 year work-up to the Marathon distance, just to see if my knee will hold up.

This week in a word: Learning

Weight

I have bounced between 164-166 all week – so I am continuing to make slow, but steady progress on losing weight.

Injuries

I re-aggravated my left calf strain when I attempted to run too much, too fast, too soon in my New Balance Minimus Trail 20s. As stated in my Who is the Minimalism Dummy Now? post that I was rather stupid about how I ran in a much more minimal shoe. I have been on the sidelines since Friday and will probably take today off as well. Could I run – yes, but I am really trying to be smart about this one, 3-5 days off to let things heal, is better than letting the injury linger on and on, because I keep re-aggravating it.

I have been very lucky so far, this is the first time since October that I have had to take off more than 1 day off in a weekly cycle, so maybe it will give the body a chance to rest and recuperate from the little annoying stuff, that doesn’t stop you from running, but you still notice them.

Shoes

Peregrines

I am almost up to 300 miles on my Saucony Peregrines and they started to give me a blister on my left foot. Enough so that I went out and bought a new pair of shoes Tuesday night. Later I decided to operate on the Peregrines and removed foam/cloth from the left heal that had bunched into a hard little knot, that was causing the blister, so that I can walk and run a little in them. However, they don’t feel nearly as comfortable now with a bunch of material gone in the heel area, but they are not causing any blisters and I will see how they feel when I run in them again.

MT20

Of all the shoes that I could try on in the local area, the MT20s were the most comfortable. I was skeptical about moving this far down the minimalism ladder before this and wanted one more pair of shoes in the Peregrine type (4MM drop with some foam) minimal category before I moved further down the ladder. However, none of the other shoes I tried on fit or felt as good as the MT20s – so I got them.

However, I ignored the advice of other runners and didn’t transition to the shoes, I just ran in them. Great learning experience that was.  I will start a much slower transition to these shoes next week :-P.

Blog Posts

Top 5

Here are my top five posts for the past week based on pageviews:

My Favorite post from last week

 Who is the Running Minimalism Dummy Now? where I discuss how stupid I was to not heed the advice of other runners who have transitioned to more minimal running shoes and do it slowly. Instead I ran two – tough for me workouts and re-aggravated my calf strain from the my snowmobile trail run the week before.  It shows that even an old fart, who is supposed to be older and wiser can become brain-dead, when getting some new shoes and simply wanting to run in them :-).

The reality is that

I made a training mistake and am paying for it by not being able to run for a few days. It was probably time for a few days off, but to have to do it because of doing something stupid, doesn’t make me feel good about it.

I do think that I will love the MT20s, I just have to get my body used to the different running style that they make you use. It is the direction that I want to go, but I do have to go slower on my transition plan ;-). No I am not beating myself up over this mistake, just admitting how dumb and preventable it was and hoping that someone else will listen. That way they won’t make the mistake that I made in my attempt to transition too quickly to a very different style of running shoe.

Thank You again for your support and reading posts from “A Veteran Runnah“.

Keep smiling and good things will happen! 🙂

Originally written by Harold Shaw published at “A Veteran Runnah” © 2011 – All Rights Reserved. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Harold Shaw and A Veteran Runnah” with appropriate and specific directions or links to the original content.
Related articles
4 comments on “AVR – Week in Review 2-12-12

    • Thanks :-), I think it would have been more cool to have run it every year since then, oh well, the could’ve/would’ve. I really want this one, I just hope the body is up to the challenge, just gotta be smart about training, instead of doing what I did this week 🙂

  1. I recently had a few days off from running (actually, almost a whole week) and it was so frustrating!! I feel your pain–though mine was shin splints, not calf aggravation. : P

    Hope that you’re back out there soon, feeling great and running strong!

    • I am sure that I will be, just tough to hold myself back, because if I really wanted to I could tough it out, but it wouldn’t prove anything. Thanks for support runners have to stick together 🙂

I moderate all comments, if it is inappropriate it will not be published.

