First Run – in My Saucony Kinvaras 2

I have had way too may “first runs” lately, but this one felt different than the other shoes I have tried out lately. As I discussed in my Running Shoes – Time to Rewind and Start Over post I chose the Saucony Kinvara 2. Even though they were on my top 5 list, I had been hesitant to try them because of what had happened to my previous Saucony shoes (heel wear and blister problems). However, nothing else was working and I really do love the fit and feel of Saucony shoes, so I decided to look very closely at the Kinvaras.

I am glad that I did, the heel is designed differently than other Saucony shoes that I have run in and hopefully this design change, fixes the issues I have had with them in the past.

When I tried them on, there was no doubt that they were going to come home with me.

They did and here they are:

Saucony Kinvara - Notice that they are not black and orange 🙂

Saucony Kinvara - Coast Guard Blue and White - they just need a little International Orange thrown in 🙂

Saucony Kinvara - The Box

Enough of the pictures already, how did they do on my feet during the run?

How were they

FANTASTIC – this is a PG-13 site, so I can’t write what I really said-but the sailor did come out and play for a while. 🙂

They were comfortable, I easily maintained my form for most of 3.1 miles (except when I was screwing around with my iPhone‘s arm band, which I eventually threw in my pocket). I knew the calf strain was there and had to back off my lean when I was going faster, but at more reasonable speeds, it was hardly noticeable – big freaking difference!!!!

The shoes are light and fast – and yes I like them a lot so far.

The only thing I noticed at all was that they were a little tight on my right forefoot, not uncomfortably tight, just more snug than the left, so that is something that I will watch to see if it loosens up a bit, after I wear them for a while.

Splits

Here are my splits for the run today:

The first mile in a new pair of shoes is always slower, as you get used to how they feel, plus I was messing around with how I was carrying my iPhone for the GPS program. That is my next project finding a great way to carry it once the weather turns warmer and I don’t have pockets to carry it in or else find a GPS watch that I have on my wrist – who know maybe I will win one of the contests going on.

I am definitely very happy with my mile 2 & 3 splits for a first run and my cadence was very close to my goal of 90.

The reality is that

Now I wish I had gotten my Saucony Kinvaras earlier and not done the run-a-round routine, if these work as good as I think they will, next time I will know to start with the Saucony, instead of waiting like I did this time.

The Kinvaras have had the best start of all of my shoes in a long time! Now let’s see how they do from here.

Next report at 50 miles.

Running Shoes – Time to Rewind and Start Over

Sometimes you just have to say I was wrong and start over. That is basically what I am doing with my running shoe choices over the past couple of weeks. The ones that I have purchased have not performed as I expected and instead of attempting to make do, I have decided to return them both and start this process over.

New Balance Minimus Trail 20

New Balance Minimus Trail 20

The New Balance Minimus Trail 20s shoes are not going to work for me. I have tried to transition to them, but when I run in them for any distance since the second day – they are continuing to re-aggravate my left calf strain, so it is time to move on.

Could I eventually run in these shoes – I really don’t know if I can or not, all I know is that running in them now is not happening. So I will find out about running in the next step down or two down the minimalist ladder later – not now. Now it is more important to keep developing my base than it is to experiment, so I decided to return MT20s. Continue reading