9 Miles – Tired and Happy – 2-21-12

What a great run today! The Saucony Kinvara 2s felt fantastic and actually after about the first half mile, I stopped worrying about them and just ran.

It was nice to just be able to run, without having to think about what I am doing or worry about re-aggravating my calf strain. I took a chance this morning and decided to run 8.0 on the rail trail in Augusta, while TheWife walked 3 miles with the Beener. I figured with an out and back course if my leg or the shoes started to bother me that it would be easier to just turn around and come back.

I also started a new “canned” training program in MiCoach, I am not a big fan of canned programs, but this one is not the same as others I have tried before. I usually prefer running for a certain distance and this program is based on the amount of time spent running. I will try it for a while to see how it works for me – something different may be what I need, there is nothing saying that I have to do exactly what it says.

That being said I have made Tuesdays my long run day – Sundays just don’t work for me due to other reasons. So this was my long run for the week.

Back to the run – It was sunny mid 30’s with a slight wind going out. I was not going for speed, just time and distance today. So I started out pretty conservatively and when I increased my speed too much the program told me to slow down or when I was going too slow it would tell me to speed up – decent motivation, but going to have to wear earphones to catch what the “coach” is telling me.

The Augusta to Hallowell part of the trail was in great shape with only a couple of places that had some black ice. However, while the Hallowell to Gardner section while it was mostly clear it did have patches of ice, that you have go around and be very careful, because the sides are a snow/ice combo, which was slippery. Actually for this time of year, the Rail Trail was in great shape!

I started at the .25 mile marker and turned around at the 4.50 marker, to make sure that I got the full 80:00 minutes in on the run, I still needed a few more minutes when I completed 8.0, so I went back out to the .75 mile marker to give me a 9.0 mile total. However, the GPS only gave me credit for 8.88 – guess what I believe the mile markers more than I do the GPS, so I ran 9.0 and put that in my official log spreadsheet, not the auto-post to MiCoach :-).

This is also the longest run I have done this year and I was very happy with it!!!

Yes the calf strain still bothers a little if I try to put a decent lean into my form or try to go faster, so I am going to do it right and just be happy that I am running mostly pain-free :-). My right knee was great and as long as I held my form everything else felt good.

Just for giggles I weighed myself when we got home and came in at 161 – the least I have weighed since the mid-90’s (when I would always weigh myself after runs). I really want to crack that 160 barrier soon, but will probably be back up to 163/164 tomorrow. Β It is progress though, maybe I should make it a habit to weigh myself only after long runs ;-).

Here is the official running log page for today

RunLog 2-21-12

3 comments on “9 Miles – Tired and Happy – 2-21-12

  1. Excellent post, I’ve also mixed up my training plan from the traditional long run Sunday, speedwork Tuesday pattern. I think it is more important to find something that works for you than blindly follow a plan.

    I was particularly interested to read about your experience with the Saucony Kinvaras – is this your very first run in them? I have been running in Newton Gravity which are great on tarmac and up to distances of around 10 miles, but now that I’m regularly putting in longer distances I need something slightly different. I’m going to my local running shop to try a few pairs of minimalist shoes this week but I have heard a lot of good things about the Kinvaras, so I hope they also work for me.

    • This is my fourth run in the Kinvaras and I love them so far, no blisters, hot spots and with all the problems that I have had with trying to find a running shoe, lately it is a relief to just be able to run and enjoy the run. The only thing that I have heard negative about the Kinvaras is how long will they hold up. If I can get them to around 300 miles and not have any injuries from running them I will be ecstatic! Good luck on your search and I hope that you find some that work for you too πŸ™‚

      • Thank you for the feedback!
        I’m still experimenting with minimalist shoes and can’t wait to get to the point when I find something that I can forget about while running – I think that is the sign of a really top notch piece of kit.
        I have heard similar tales about the Kinvaras (even from the Saucony salesmen at a marathon training day I attended recently!), I guess it is par for the course when there is less cushioning in the shoe. If I could get to 300 miles with no more blisters, I would be incredibly happy.
        Thanks again for your advice πŸ™‚

I moderate all comments, if it is inappropriate it will not be published.

