Starting New Training Plan – 2-22-12

Today’s run was just a recovery run and I was supposed to run for 30:00 minutes as part of my new training plan. Unfortunately, I screwed up on the iPhone MiCoach App somehow or another and paused it when I put it in my carry pouch and switched to a different program, which on an old 3G doesn’t work well. 🙂 So I don’t know how far I actually ran, but it was 4 Philbrick laps plus another quarter, so it was at least 3.3 miles. Oh well.

I am trying the Marathon training plan and will probably cut the long runs short if I need to, but it seemed like the plan that was about what I was wanting to do. I may not follow everything exactly, but it gives me a better idea of where I am going, than what I had before. I also had to go clean up my spreadsheet to account for the “leap year” this month, not completely finished, but close enough until I get a little more time. Continue reading

What is Good Running Form?

English: World athletics final Stuttgart 2007 ...

Image via Wikipedia

What is good running form?

That is a question that has both bothered me (and a lot of other people) for a while now. I am interested for selfish reasons – to my way of thinking if you have good running form, you should be able to:

  • run faster
  • be more injury free
  • enjoy running more

However, I haven’t really worried about my running form for years and mostly just went out the door or stepped on the treadmill and ran.

Unfortunately, over the past 10 or so years, running became more and more of a chore – it might have something to do with being older, but it seemed like it was more than that. When you disregard my major non-running related injuries, I was almost always nicked up in some way or another (my knees, hips, back or ankles always seemed to be hurt or ache) and it was rather uncomfortable for me to run further than 5-6 miles at a time or over 30 miles a week. Continue reading