Hammie is letting me run-SLOWLY 2-28-12

Goodhue to Home Elevation/Pace Chart 2-28-12

Today was supposed to be a recovery run after yesterday’s first day back, so of course, when I felt pretty good, I decided to push it a bit further than I originally planned.

TheWife asked me how my run was when I got back and then added, “I thought you said you were only going to run 3 or 5, you were gone an awful long time”. I just told her that I did, but I just added them together. Yes I did 8.0 miles today – might I add a very slow 8.0 miles, but 8.0 it was. 2.0 miles was through down back and the footing was not that good to go fast either, so I just plugged along.

That hamstring strain from the snow removal fiasco Saturday, has a long way to go before it is completely healed and it lets me know if I get going too fast. Right now about as fast as I can go is a 9:30 pace, any faster, the hammie really starts to bark at me. So guess what I listened to it and then it lets me run. The hamstring felt the same at 1/2 mile as it did at 3 or 8, so I can go pretty far, just not fast. Given the choice of no running or running slow, I will run slow.

I screwed up on a setting on RunTastic and it didn’t start when I started to run. I didn’t realize it until almost 1.5 miles in, so I just shut it down until I got to Goodhue Road and did the GPS back to the house and it measured 3.36 miles, then I ran up Philbrick and added on Howard Circle to give me 4.7 for my 8.0 miles.

Also I went over 200 miles for the year today, which I am very happy with. It has been a long time since I had 200 miles in two months and that means I am still on track for my 1,200 miles for the year. Also if I can manage to run 5.3 miles tomorrow, I will have 100 miles for February and that is even though I lost 6 days to injury, so my running is going a lot better than I have done in a long time.

RunLog 2-28-12

4 comments on “Hammie is letting me run-SLOWLY 2-28-12

    • As long as I am able to get out and run, it doesn’t matter if it is fast or slow :-). No running slow is not a bad thing, but I do have a goal to run a bit faster later this summer. Hopefully you are feeling better and will be back out there soon.

I moderate all comments, if it is inappropriate it will not be published.

