AVR – February 2012 in Review

February was my first full month of “A Veteran Runnah” at WordPress.com, I moved from Blogger on January 23rd and haven’t really looked back since. In some ways being limited by what I can do on WordPress.com has been a good thing, it has given me time think about where I really want to take this blog, without the worry of trying to monetize it too. I have passed up on a couple of opportunities that if I had been on Blogger, I might have thought about more seriously, but being here couldn’t do them.

Honestly, being on WordPress.com simplifies things for me a great deal and has allowed me to focus on writing, instead of back-end management issues. Which is what I wanted to do.

I am making great progress on my 2012 running goals and have had a couple of minor injuries that rest has taken care of. I did go through the “Great February Shoe Hunt” and ended up with one of the shoes on my Top 5 Shoe List – The Saucony Kinvara – after almost a 2 week period of searching. Yesterday, I got my credit notification from New Balance for returning my NB MT20s and ordered the MT110s to have as my trail shoes. I should be getting them soon.

I ended February with a real score, I was in town today and picked up a New Balance dry fit running jacket for a great price. I have needed another running jacket for a month now and when I saw it, I knew it was coming home with me. – Very bright blue, so I know I will be seen and not be mistaken for a natural critter on the side of the road or trail  :-).

Running In January

Summary

  • Miles Run: 100.7
  • Days Run: 22
  • Days Off:    07
  • Longest Run: 9.0 miles on 1/21/12
  • Fastest Run:  8:27 pace for 3.11 miles on 2/9/12
  • Best Week: 30:57  week ending 2/5
  • Miles walked: 78.86 – added in to show that I do more than just run

Shoes Run In

  • Saucony Peregrine – Very good shoe until a hole wore in the padding of heal at 290 miles and started to cause blisters, put in the give away pile, so I wouldn’t wear.
  • Brooks Ravenna – I tried to run in them, but they were too small, my foot seems to have spread out in the Peregrines. In the give away pile
  • New Balance MT20 – Returned to New Balance for credit.
  • ASICS Gel Blur 22 – Returned to Dick’s and exchanged for Kinvara
  • Saucony Kinvara 2 – I now have over 50 miles on these shoes and will be doing an updated review on them in the next couple of days – needless to say that I definitely like them so far.
  • Saucony Pro Grid Propel – my spike/screw shoes that I use when it is really nasty out.
  • New Balance MT110 – Ordered and they are en route, should be here by Friday.
Races Run
None
Virtual Runs
None

Summary: I made the 100 mile goal for the month, barely, but I made it! I played around with different Apps to use on my iPhone as a GPS device and tend to go back and forth between MiCoach and iSmoothRun. I tried a couple of others, but they didn’t work for me for various reasons. I decided to only use the Free Workouts in MiCoach, because I was getting too “serious” using the app to help coach me during my runs and wasn’t enjoying running nearly as much as I had been.

I figured out that I don’t like running just for time, I have used mileage to measure my progress for so many years, that I naturally think in those terms, even when using the time training plans. So instead of fighting myself, I just went back to using mileage as my base to plan and measure my progress.  I could always switch to kilometers and make it sound further than miles – nawwww that would really confuse me ;-).

Also, I have had 3 runs of 8.0 miles or longer during February which is totally awesome! I haven’t run that far for my long runs, since I was marathon training in 2006. The best part is I don’t feel too bad the next day.

This month in a word: Further

Weight

I ended January weighing 165 and February at 163 – only 2 pounds in a month. I am a little disappointed, but I haven’t really been watching what I eat, so I will take the 2 pounds. I did hit 161 after my 9.0 miler, so I know it is just a matter of time, until those last 8 pounds go away and I reach my goal weight of 155.
With better weather on the horizon, I have a feeling that the weight will come off easier than it is during the tough blahs part of winter and even better – TheWife also let me know that she actually sees ribs, not just flubber now :-).
33 pounds lost since June 17, 2012

 🙂

Injuries

This month I lost 6 days of running to minor muscle strains. I ran the local snowmobile trail and strained my left calf, then I went ran really hard in the MT20s a few days later, without any adjustment time – stupid I know and it cost me 4 days of running. After that I couldn’t run in the MT20s without re-aggravating the strain, that is why they went back to New Balance.
Last Saturday, we had a snow storm and due to a broken belt on the snow blower I had to clear the driveway by snow scoop and strained my left hamstring. I took a couple of days off and have run pretty slowly on it, but as long as I don’t try to run too fast, the hammie does okay.
The right knee is not complaining very often, but I have to be careful to give it rest and a chance to recuperate after a long or hard run. No streaking or back to back hard days. The lower back is still a little sore at times, but as long as I don’t let Bennie (our dog) sit in my lap, while I am working on my laptop computer it does a lot better.
Top Ten Blog Posts for February
  1. Narrowed the Choices Down to 5 Running Shoes
  2. My iPhone Running App
  3. 10 Things I Love About Running
  4. My Transition Plan to Minimalist Running Shoes
  5. Marathon Poll Results and Questions
  6. What is Good Running Form?
  7. The Winter Runner Stink
  8. The Myth – Running is Cheap
  9. My Very Tentative Race Schedule for 2012
  10. Who is the Running Minimalism Dummy Now?

Reviews

One of the things that I really like to do is to review new gear. Whether I buy something myself or provided a product to review, I enjoy trying it out and seeing if it works as advertised or not. But more importantly – whether I like it or not and why. Blogging about running related products makes me think differently about what I am using – which is a good thing.
I have done the following product reviews this month:
  • Saucony Kinvara 2 – Personal Purchase
  • Asics Gel Blur 22 – Personal Purchase
  • Tommie Copper Compression Sleeve for knee and calves
  • New Balance Minimus Trail 20 – Personal Purchase
  • Goat Head Gear – Sole Spikes
  • Ruez Performance Underwear
FTC Disclaimer – Unless indicated by {Personal Purchase} I was provided products from these companies free of charge, to review them on my blog. I received no monetary or other forms of compensation to do the review. My opinions about each product are my honest observations, based upon my experience while using the product.

The reality is that

February is a very short month, I had some minor, but nagging injuries and I still made 100 miles this month – even though I didn’t really think that I would!!!!
The move to WordPress.com was beneficial for me, I am focusing on writing more than I did at Blogger.
Now that I seem to have the running shoe and running app search over for a little while, it is time to run and have fun.
Keep smiling and good things will happen! 🙂
Originally written by Harold Shaw published at A Veteran Runnah © 2012 – All Rights Reserved. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Harold Shaw and A Veteran Runnah with appropriate and specific directions or links to the original content.
One comment on “AVR – February 2012 in Review

I moderate all comments, if it is inappropriate it will not be published.

