AVR – Week in Review 3-4-12

This has been a pretty good week, in spite of the snow storm this week.

I got my replacement shoes from New Balance and ran further than I have in a long time in one week. The little muscle strains are starting to heal (just not as fast as I want) and I found a pair of shoes that work great for me on the roads.

Now I just have to get transitioned to those New Balance shoes 🙂

Running Summary This Week

RunLog Week of 3/4/12

Weekly Summary 3-4-12

I feel really great about getting damn near 34.0 miles for the week, with 3 runs of 6.0 or more, even with my hamstring not at 100%.

Three things Running

  1. I pushed at the start of the week
    I pushed harder than I normally do at the start of a week, because I wanted to make 100 miles for February and I did make that goal. However, I am going to work to ensure that I have easy days after runs of more than 5-6 miles. I want to stay healthy and need to be careful of doing too much. I did go over 30 miles for the week and it was farther than I have ran in a week since 2006, so it was a successful week.
  2. Take what the body lets me do
    Don’t try to continually run faster or further when injured, just do my body lets me do without going beyond that point. My hamstring is still bothering, but it lets me run slower than normal. Accept that and have fun with what you can do, not what you want to do.
  3. Get excited about the MT110s
    They are a very good shoe and deserve better than just being rather blase about getting them. I have them now and they will be great shoes for all the trail racing that I have planned for this spring/summer. Stay conservative and transition to running in these shoe slowly – Enjoy what you have.
  4. This week in a word:
    Tired

Blog Posts

Below are my posts from last week:

  1. First Run in New Balance MT110 – 3-3-12
  2. Recovery Run from Yesterday 3-3-12
  3. Snowy Run down-back=tough run 3-2-12
  4. Saucony Kinvara 2 – After 50 Miles
  5. Running in Snow & Pictures Again 3-1-12
  6. Running – 40 Years Series  This was a page and I decided to just make it a post
  7. AVR – February 2012 in Review
  8. Middle Road Loop Plus 2-29-12
  9. Wordless Wednesday 2-29-12
  10. Hammie is letting me run-SLOWLY 2-28-12
  11. Running Vicariously thru Other Runners
  12. Running Challenges Us?
  13. Surprise Run Today 2-27-12
I have been in a bit of a funk the past 3-4 days, pretty much like I am fighting a virus or bug, so my posts have been a little less than original since about Wednesday. Hopefully, this week I start feeling like my old perky self :-).

Top 5

Here are my top five posts for the past week based on pageviews:

My Favorite post from last week

Running Challenges Us? Where I discussed how running running challenges us in many different ways and a reminder for runners to remember to have fun when they are running.

Weight

I have bounced between 162-164 all week – so I did loose a pound. I am not trying super hard to lose the weight, but it is coming off slowly but surely. Maybe this next week I need to start trying a little harder and not eat as much junk food :-).

Injuries

My left hamstring got strained while moving snow around over a week ago, I can run slow on it, but it does bother if sit in a chair wrong or if I move just right, so I have to be a little careful with it. The calf is getting better and only gets tight now when I push to go too fast, I believe I am on the other side for that injury. The right knee is doing great, so that is really encouraging. However, I feel tired this week, I am not my perky self, need to get some sunshine and eat more garlic 🙂

Running Shoes

Saucony Kinvara

I really, really like them on the roads, not so much on trails or snow. They are not made for off-road or winter running, while I can use them, they are definitely better as road shoes. I went over 50 miles in them this week and although the right foot is a little snug, it hasn’t affected me while running. Good shoes so far.

New Balance MT110

I got them Friday night and have only run 3.1 miles in them so far – to be honest I am rather blase about them and am not sure why. However, I am not going to make the mistake that I made with the other MInimus Shoes and plan to go slow in them and build up the mileage until I can run in them, without any restrictions.

Racing Schedule

I started a Google Calendar – Running In Maine 2012 with a lot of the dates of races in Maine during 2012. Yesterday I worked on updating and adding a lot of races to the calendar, so it is a lot better than it was before

I have it sort of narrowed down to the races listed below

Date Name of Race Location Result
3/4/2012 Chamberlain 5k Brewer Didn’t run
4/7/2012 Fly Like An Eagle 5k China
5/5/2012 Woodfords Family Services 2nd Annual 5K Fun Run/Walk for Autism Waterville
5/26/2012 Pineland Fams Trail Running 5k New Gloucester
6/24/2012 Rail Trail 5K & 1/2 Marathon Augusta
7/4/2012 Friends of the Fourth Winthrop
7/12/2012 Bond Brook 5K Race Series Augusta  Wednesday Evening
7/15/2012 Bradbury Mountain 6 Miler Pownal
7/19/2012 Bond Brook 5K Race Series Augusta  Wednesday Evening
8/2/2012 Bond Brook 5K Race Series Augusta  Thursday Evening
8/5/2012 Bradbury Mountain 9 Miler Pownal
8/11/2012 Topsham Fair 5k Topsham
9/9/2012 Bradbury Mountain 12 Pownal
11/10/2012 Maine-ly Moose 5k Portland

As we go through the season, races will change and I have added the Bond Brook series already and taken out a couple of others :-). This at least gives me an idea of what I would like to run. I have also made a widget for the sidebar of this blog that has the calendar in it.  It you see any errors or other information that needs to be updated or added please let me know.

Running Goals

This section shouldn’t change too much from week to week, but I want to keep them right in front of me so that I don’t forget what my goals are

A slight change to my goals – is to make sure that I am enjoying running and not letting it become too much like work.

This year my big goals are to run 1,200 miles, run a sub 20:00 5K and get through 2012 without any significant down time or injuries (running related or others).  My unadvertised goals from the start of the year are to be able to finish a half-marathon (notice I said finish not race) and run a few trail races when the weather gets better.

My long-term goal will be to run the 2013 Marine Corps Marathon. I finished the 1983 Marathon and to run/finish Marine Corps again 30 years later would be very cool. This is one of the major goals that I have in mind for my running and it would be even more fantastic if I could qualify for Boston that same day. Therefore, I am doing a 2 year work-up to the Marathon distance, just to see if my knee will hold up.

The reality is that

This has been a very good week overall. My injury is very minor and is a small glitch, where I will be back to running pretty quickly.

Thank You again for your support and reading posts from “A Veteran Runnah“.

Keep smiling and good things will happen! 🙂

Originally written by Harold Shaw published at “A Veteran Runnah” © 2011 – All Rights Reserved. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Harold Shaw and A Veteran Runnah” with appropriate and specific directions or links to the original content.
Related articles

4 comments on “AVR – Week in Review 3-4-12

    • I am fighting something, and today is my normal day off, will see how I feel for my long run tomorrow, supposed to do 9-10. I hope that you feel better tomorrow and get a good long one in. Sometimes we just have to listen to our bodies 🙂

    • Thanks, what ever has been going around is going to wack me sooner or later, I just hope it is after tomorrow, I really want to do my long run – TheWife has agreed to let me run into town and she and the Beaner are going to drive to pick up whatever is left 🙂 should be around 10 or so.

I moderate all comments, if it is inappropriate it will not be published.

