10 Miler Done – 3-4-12

Today was my long run day and guess what?

I hammered it!

Not bragging or trying make myself out to be something I am not, but finished 10 miles at just over a 9:00 minute pace per mile. I know that is not very fast to a lot of you out there, but it is the first time in a long time that I have done double-digits and

  1. not felt like crap afterwards
  2. not big or unusual aches or pains
  3. I could have gone further without a lot of problems
The last time I ran at least this far I got injured and missed the 2006 Maine Marathon, today I finished and felt great!!!!!!

We got around 3 inches of snow last night, so the footing at times was interesting and I had to jump off the road for cars, far too often and couldn’t see what was under the snow, which was a little dicey at times. However, I felt great throughout the run and if the footing had been better, I might have had a ย shot at going under 9:00s which would have amazedย me.

Pace/Elevation Chart 3-5-12

What is the big thing you notice about this — It is pretty much DOWNHILL!!!! Once I get through the 30-35 minute point, there are just some bumps, to get over, which is great. I will see how my legs are in the morning, but this is actually a pretty fast course. That big dip at about 45 minutes was when a big dump truck went by and my hat flew off, so I had to run back and get it about 20 yards back up the road.

What the road looked like when I first started, footing was a little tough in the Kinvaras

Looking up the last "big" hill on the Middle Rd in Sidney

The slipperiest part of the run, especially when that line of cars went by and I had to be in the breakdown lane for a while

Looking down on Civic Center drive from the Middle Road

Going down the Leighton Rd, you notice that it hadn't been winged back yet and I spent a lot of time in that snow on this road - had to go slow in that stuff. Yes I turned left before the big hills on the Leighton Road - I know I am a wimp ๐Ÿ™‚

I have a feeling that I will be spending a lot of time this spring & summer on this road at the new Bond Brook Recreational Area - running trails ๐Ÿ™‚ Yes that hill is part of the trail system, haven't walked or run there yet, but have hear it is a tough course

We had agreed to meet at College Carryout, which I thought was pretty close to 10.0 miles and when I checked my GPS it was 9.98 and TheWife drove up just as I got to the parking lot – talk about timing. I didn’t have to stand out in the cold at all, I just hopped in the car and off we went.

I was very happy with how consistent my pacing was for this distance:

 

It will be interesting to see what my time for this run will be later this spring when the roads are clear. I hope that I feel as good at the end of all my long runs as I did today, because I felt pretty damn good. Although this afternoon while I was sitting in my easy chair participating in a #fitblog chat I fell asleep and woke up with a dog sleeping in my lap an hour later ๐Ÿ™‚

4 comments on “10 Miler Done – 3-4-12

I moderate all comments, if it is inappropriate it will not be published.

