Nice and Easy was What the Boss Ordered 3-10-12

Today was definitely a recovery day, I had hit 30 miles for the week yesterday and that faster paced 8.0 miles definitely was felt today. I was quite tired and my legs were heavy when I started. I purposely kept the pace very slow and easy.

During the run I focused on foot plant and form, I was looking closer at the movie I took the other day (I still have to process them in iMovie) and while I have improved my form, I still have a long ways to go. 🙂

Pace/Elevation Chart 3-10-12

I don’t think that I will ever have a fairly straight line, my pacing is too erratic, maybe getting to the track will help that? Every time I started to speed up, I purposely reined it in. I am very happy that I kept it close to a 10:00 pace, which is about where my recovery runs should be for my current level of conditioning.

4 comments on “Nice and Easy was What the Boss Ordered 3-10-12

  1. Your pacing, more or less, seemed to follow the hills- except for that last one- looks like you did an uphill sprint?

    I hope your recovery run helped your legs recover! Nice week of training and nice 8 miler!

    • Thanks Erik – I did, but no matter what kind of run, I always try to pick it up at least a little bit at the end. I will find out tomorrow when I do another 10, this should be the answer to a lot of questions tomorrow 🙂

  2. Good luck with your foot plant stuff that you’re doing when your’re working on your form. I ran only 8K today and I’m concentrating on lifting my feet so I won’t stumble. Form is a big thing isn’t it? I’ve got 2 and a bit months till my half marathon and a 10k before that so I’m building up slowly, slowly.

    • I wish you well on your training for those two distances. Yes I am finding that changing my form is still a work in progress and if I don’t focus (still), I heel strike and then when I notice, I quickly move back to forefoot landings – just have to keep working at it 🙂

I moderate all comments, if it is inappropriate it will not be published.

