Loosing Weight Makes You Look Different!

Before my long run yesterday TheWife took some pictures, so that I could update the header on the blog, I just thought it was time. In the previous one it looked like I was scowling – I wasn’t, the sun was shining too bright and she caught me between smiles.

I didn’t realize how big a difference there was in the photo we took yesterday, until I put it up on the blog and then saw it compared to my January picture. There is a huge difference in how I look in just a couple of months (it isn’t just the 5 pounds), hell TheWife has even been noticing that I am looking different and when she saw that she even said “You have lost a lot of weight!”

Which got me to thinking and I went back and looked at a bunch of old photos that show a certain progression:

My Old Avatar from 2010. I had stayed right between 170-180 pretty much the past 10 years with a couple of time just barely breaking the 170 barrier

August 6, 2010 I had started wearing a brace because of the pain that walking for extended period caused my knee. I was probably around 180 here.

October 2011 the last real picture that I have of me before surgery in May, I really didn't like to have my picture taken as I got bigger and bigger, I avoided it. I have definitely gotten bigger since August in this photo and got even bigger before May came around. I was probably over 190 by this time - Notice the fleece - I was always wearing a fleece vest, sweater or jacket to hide how fat I was getting.

On May 17, 2011, I had knee surgery to correct what was wrong.

No I don’t have any pictures to show how big I had gotten because I couldn’t walk very far or well without being in a lot of pain. I didn’t want photos taken of me back when I was so fat – that is why I volunteered to carry the camera so much and be the photographer. (Sound familiar anyone?). When I last went to the doctor’s office in April I was 196 and by the time surgery came around I “know” that I gone over 200.

On June 17th, I weighed myself at the house and our scales said 196. That was my last day of teaching and the beginning of my time to take better care of myself. ย I didn’t want to become another needless statistic. What really hit home was when Mary told during the week after my surgery that I had a grey pallor to my face from being stressed out all the time and so overweight (fat). It was at that point I knew that I needed to do something about it.

This is the first photo of me after the surgery that I could find. I was still up in the 190s and yes I was sucking my gut in all I could ๐Ÿ™‚

My first picture in running clothes in a long time on November 9th, still pretty chunky, still in the 180s

My start the new year picture on 1-1-12 (a beautiful day by the way). I weighed in at 171 and was already starting to see the difference.

January 24th and I had already lost a few more pounds, you can see a pretty good difference between the 1st and this photo a few weeks later

My picture yesterday, I have run my long runs and over 30 miles a week more consistently, even doing a bit with weights, yet the difference of 5 pounds from January to yesterday is pretty amazing to me. One of these days I am going to stand up straight and not have the head tilt and that look on my face :-).

No I didn’t put these pictures of me in here because I am narcissistic, I did it to show the difference in how I looked, after I was able to get off my arse and doing something about being overweight.

Am I done?

Hell no – even at 162, I am still considered a little over-weight according to the BMI rating, my goal weight is 155 and I would love to be in the 140s for the first time since probably 1988. That is the weight where I used to feel my best.

I suppose that I should really start looking more at what I am eating, but we do about 70-80% organic and homemade, so I am pretty comfortable with what I eat. Now if I could just stop eating so many whoopie pies and whip my sugar/salt addictions into submission ย :-).

No I am not looking for anย attaboy or great job or anything else from this post, but you know something, I am pretty damn proud of how I look today, compared to where I started on June 17th of 2011.

16 comments on “Loosing Weight Makes You Look Different!

  1. When I read your post about your 10-miler, the first thing I thought was how much thinner you looked than when I met you in January. Keep up the great work!

  2. But here’ s an atta boy! anyway. The main thing is that you are feeling better and no doubt are healthier. Losing weight and building stamina and muscle can do that for us.

    Very nice to read such a positive post… and I am lovin’ those red running shoes! And the doggie, of course.

    • Elle – Thanks :-). Those are a pair of old Nikes that I just turned into my walking shoes. They are comfy and my other shoes wore out, had to make some choices ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Harold! You look great!! You have every right to be proud. But you hit a chord with me – I’m scheduled for knee surgery in two weeks and I’m worried about weight gain, lethargy, blah. Last time I had surgery, I was in my early 20s. I have a feeling that the healing process will be a little bit different in my mid-30s!!

    • Christine – I am in my mid 50’s and you will heal just fine, my problem was that I delayed my surgery February 2010 which I did the injury to May 2011 and couldn’t do much for a long time and the weight just kept creeping. If I had it to do over, would do a lot of things differently – that damn 20/20 hindsight. Just keep eating mostly healthy, do your PT and push the hell out of yourself. It took me 6 months before I was running mostly pain-free and I just started running 10 mile runs with no pain in my surgically repaired knee (the doc said it was just a tune-up/clean-up).

      Good luck on your surgery and keep informed on your progress. If I can be any support let me know ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Wow dad, i can see your chin….. and there’s only one! ๐Ÿ™‚ Seriously though, congratulations! You have no idea how much you just helped me to fear aging just a little bit less :), huge inspiration!

  5. Pingback: AVR – Running Week in Review 3-18-12 « A Veteran Runnah

  6. Pingback: Crashing Through a Major Barrier « A Veteran Runnah

I moderate all comments, if it is inappropriate it will not be published.

