12.0 Miler on 70 Degree March Day

It was mid 50s when I started my long run this morning. The forecast called for it to stay in the 50s, well guess what – it didn’t. By the time I finished running in Augusta, it was 70F degrees.

The weather people really blew this forecast, which is okay now that I am done running, but those last 4.0 miles were pretty tough with the temps around 70F. I am not acclimated to the heat yet and it took a toll on the old body.

I am definitely glad that I used ย the hydration pack – no doubt about needing water today. I dislike the sound of water sloshing around at first and just wearing the pack took a little getting used to. I ย used a Clif Mocha+Caffeine Shot Gel at mile 6.0 which seemed to help get me through the toughest part of the run.

Pace/Elevation Chart 3-19-12

I don’t have a clue what that steep drop-off was at around 10:00 minutes???? Who knows the mysteries of GPS.

For the first 3.0 miles or so I had to keep adjusting the pack, until I got it so it felt right on my back, so that slowed me down a bit at the start. I tried to drink water every 1/2 mile or so, which really seemed to help on the other end. That big dip towards the end was having to wait at a the stop light for the Ft. Western Bridge in Augusta, no choice too much traffic turning left ๐Ÿ˜‰ couldn’t Jay-Run.

When I got to the start of the Rail Trail, it was just over 11.0 miles and I really wanted to get 12.0 so I went to the .75 marker and turned around. Looking back I should have just gone to the 1.25 marker and did a 1/2 Marathon to see if I could have finished in under 2:00 hours, it would have meant really stepping up to the plate and going for it that last mile. That would have really made my day and knowing how close I would have been to that distance puts me about 6 months ahead of where I thought I would be this year (actually I didn’t think that I would be able to run this far – so I am very happy with my progress).

Thinking about it, this was the first time that I have run 12.0 miles without stopping to walk since – oh 1983. Even while training for my other marathons (that I never started due to getting injured), I always stopped and walked for a while starting around mile 8.0 – modified Galloway Method.

RunLog 3-19-12

This run did remind me of how much I hate running in town with all the traffic there is there, but it is the route with the least amount of traffic – to get to the rail trail.

6 comments on “12.0 Miler on 70 Degree March Day

  1. Nice run man! You are ready for a half…no doubt. Way to go!

    I ran in a YMCA this past weekend and got 140 laps (12.5/mi) in 1:55, and it felt great with the AC. It was 83 outside. The bummer was my “bandaids” didn’t stay and I am Mr. Sensitive Nipples today…LOL

    • Ouch!!!! I hate that when it happens, I have been wearing a Under Armor Tactical Gear shirt as my base layer for my long runs and haven’t had any of those problems. They hurt A LOT and are a pain. I feel pretty confident about finishing a half, just wonder what the pace will be. Sounds like you are a little faster than I am though, means I have to work harder hehehehe ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Ah, the heat — I also need to get acclimated again! I was supposed to do 5 yesterday (same as you), but had to stop after 4 because I desperately needed water. Guess I gotta get a hydration pack like you. Tried again today, did another 4. Just gotta keep going and get used to the heat for summer! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Pingback: AVR – Running Week in Review 3-25-12 « A Veteran Runnah

  4. Pingback: Finally Ran 13.1 for Base Time – 3-26-12 « A Veteran Runnah

I moderate all comments, if it is inappropriate it will not be published.

