AVR – Running Week in Review 3-25-12

Most of the week was way of above average temps 80s in March, in Maine – I never have heard of it being this hot before and with the number of records set this week, neither had anyone else. I will not lie, I did enjoy the hot weather when I wasn’t running, but during the runs it was a little miserable. It was a great week, but I know that I am tired.

Running Summary This Week

RunLog Week of 3/25/12

Weekly Summary 3-25-12

40 miles this week and over 120 for March, this has been a great month so for as far running goes. Also that Friday’s weight meant a lot to me – it has been a super long time since I broke the 160 barrier.

Miles walked this week:  21.1 

Three things Running

  1. Find a girl crawling on the trail or as she called it helping to rescue a damsel in distress: It was fortune that allowed me to find the girl who was crawling on the trail after she hurt her leg while trail running (it turned out she broke her fibula). It took a while to carry her out, but staying with her was the right thing to do and I would hope that everyone else would stop and help someone if they are on a trail and in need of help too.
  2. Over 40 miles: I think that I am at the limit of my mileage now – 40 miles in a week is a lot for me and I am pretty tired this weekend. I plan to keep doing my long runs, but have a feeling that I will probably try to keep it between 35-41 miles next week.
  3. Running in hot weather: Is different from running in the 30-40’s that are more seasonable, but I found out that I like the hydration pack, even though I do run a little slower when I wear it. I have a feeling that I am going to enjoy running this summer.
This week in a word:
Tired

Blog Posts

Below are my posts from last week:

  1. 12.0 Miler on 70 Degree March Day
  2. Run Interrupted by being Neighborly 3-20-12
  3. Finding an Injured Runner on the Trail 3-21-12
  4. A Just Do it Day Today 3-22-12
  5. Ultimate Natural Running Startup Guide Webinar Notes
  6. Thinking about Trail Running Safety
  7. Surprise 10 and a Tough 10.0 Mile Run 3-23-12
  8. Crashing Through a Major Barrier
  9. Great Day to Run – 3-24-12
I have basically figured out that other than my running log entries, that I want to try for only 2-4 added blog posts a week and am even thinking about going to just twice a week for those posts. With nice weather coming I will not have as much time to devote to blogging as I have this past winter.  I just have too many other interests that will be taking up my time and I don’t make any money doing this, so there are other priorities that will take my time over the next 6-8 months.

Top 10

Here are my top ten posts for the past week based on pageviews:

My Favorite post from last week

Finding an Injured Runner on the Trail 3-21-12 was my favorite post from last week. It was a case of being in the right place at the right time. I had planned to only do 3.5 and ended up going longer, which resulted in me being there after she got hurt, instead of passing by her while she was running. I am glad that we were able to get her out safely and that she will be okay when her leg heals.

Weight

I passed a major milestone this week, I broke through the 160 barrier that has plagued me for 20 or so years. Yes I am back to 161 today, but I bounce 2-3 pounds over the course of a week, so it doesn’t concern me at all. Most of the week I was at 160 and will start dipping below that more regularly over the coming weeks. I still am not trying super hard to lose the weight, but it is coming off slowly but surely and as long as I keep running consistently, I hope that it continues to come off.

Injuries

I have a few aches and pains from helping to carry out the young lady – you don’t realize how many muscles you use when lifting and carrying a 150+ pound person on a slippery trail. My ankles, knees and lower back were tired and ached for the next couple of days – I wonder if that is part of my tiredness today or if I am coming down with a bug of some kind. I have felt like crap most of the day and while working on onions today, I got feeling really sick.

Running wise as I continue to increase my mileage behind my left knee (at the top of my calf) is sore, but goes away after I get about half mile into the run.

Running Shoes

Saucony Kinvara

So far the Kinvara have proved to be a great shoe, I have run long runs without any problems in them and they allow me to just run in them. I am concerned about the amount of wear on the blown rubber portions of the sole and the uppers are starting to get tears in the fabric over the upper. I am still wondering how many miles I will get on my K2s before they wear down too much to wear for my primary long-distance running shoes.

New Balance MT110

I got out on the trails with the MT110s this week and loved them, they worked great on the trails and I still walked in them almost every day this week and they are not bothering me at all.

Newton Gravitas

They are a comfortable shoe to run in and this week I plan to run one of my 5-6 milers in them to see how they do. I am happy with the progress I am making in adjusting to the Gravity and think that I will be ready to run longer runs in them when the Kinvaras need to be replaced.  I don’t like the open weave for 30-40 degree days, but they sure felt great on those 80 degree days

Racing Schedule

I started a Google Calendar – Running In Maine 2012 with a lot of the dates of races in Maine during 2012. Yesterday I worked on updating and adding a lot of races to the calendar, so it is a lot better than it was before

I have it sort of narrowed down to the races listed below

Date Name of Race Location Result
3/4/2012 Chamberlain 5k Brewer Didn’t run
4/7/2012 Fly Like An Eagle 5k China  Submitted Race Application
4/28/2012 Joseph’s 5K Fairfield, Maine
5/26/2012 Pineland Fams Trail Running 5k New Gloucester
6/24/2012 Rail Trail 5K & 1/2 Marathon Augusta
7/4/2012 Friends of the Fourth Winthrop
7/12/2012 Bond Brook 5K Race Series Augusta  Wednesday Evening
7/15/2012 Bradbury Mountain 6 Miler Pownal
7/19/2012 Bond Brook 5K Race Series Augusta  Wednesday Evening
8/2/2012 Bond Brook 5K Race Series Augusta  Thursday Evening
8/5/2012 Bradbury Mountain 9 Miler Pownal
8/11/2012 Topsham Fair 5k Topsham
9/9/2012 Bradbury Mountain 12 Pownal
11/10/2012 Maine-ly Moose 5k Portland

As we go through the season, races will change and I have added the Bond Brook series already and taken out a couple of others :-). This at least gives me an idea of what I would like to run. I have also made a widget for the sidebar of this blog that has the calendar in it.  It you see any errors or other information that needs to be updated or added please let me know.

Running Goals

This section shouldn’t change too much from week to week, but I want to keep them right in front of me so that I don’t forget what my goals are

A slight change to my goals – is to make sure that I am enjoying running and not letting it become too much like work.

This year my big goals are to run 1,200 miles, run a sub 20:00 5K and get through 2012 without any significant down time or injuries (running related or others).  My unadvertised goals from the start of the year are to be able to finish a half-marathon (notice I said finish not race) and run a few trail races when the weather gets better.

My long-term goal will be to run the 2013 Marine Corps Marathon. I finished the 1983 Marathon and to run/finish Marine Corps again 30 years later would be very cool. This is one of the major goals that I have in mind for my running and it would be even more fantastic if I could qualify for Boston that same day. Therefore, I am doing a 2 year work-up to the Marathon distance, just to see if my knee will hold up.

The reality is that

This has been a very good week overall. The best thing was that I  helped someone in need and that meant a lot to me.  A couple of long runs (12 & 10 miles), plus over 40 miles in a week for the first time in a long time. The weather was unseasonably warm, which made me think about how nice it will be to run this summer – I am looking forward to running a lot this summer.

Thank You again for your support and reading posts from “A Veteran Runnah“.

Keep smiling and good things will happen! 🙂

Originally written by Harold Shaw published at “A Veteran Runnah” © 2011 – All Rights Reserved. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Harold Shaw and A Veteran Runnah” with appropriate and specific directions or links to the original content.
Related articles
2 comments on “AVR – Running Week in Review 3-25-12

  1. I sure hope the weather decides to go back to normal soon. I have a friend doing his first Boston and if the weather stays like it has been, it will make for a tough Boston. Nice week of running man! Your progress is inspiring! Plus, being the knight in shining, uhm, perspiration, too! Thanks for sharing. May your week be cooler, the wind at your back and your stride be smooth!

  2. Pingback: AVR – Running Week in Review 4-1-12 « A Veteran Runnah

I moderate all comments, if it is inappropriate it will not be published.

