Starting to Look Again & Felt Tired :-)

Splits 3-27-12

Today was an extremely busy day!

I went to Veteran’s Administration to start learning how to navigate through its system. I was extremely impressed with the level of service, professionalism and courtesy, I was shown throughout my time over at Togus.

After that I went to the Maine Career Center in Augusta. The Veteran’s Counselor had a great suggestion for me, but I have to hustle, the deadline for applying for this position is the 29th and surprise I have decided to apply. Wish me luck.

I like retirement a lot, but with costs rising like they are, the budget is getting tighter than is comfortable. We are not in desperate straits or anything, so I can and will be a picky about what I decide to do, plus everyone tells me I am too young to be “retired”. 😉

So what does all of that have to do with running?

Running helps relieve stress and I needed to unwind a little after working on my résumé, calling people for references and putting a lot of my work history online into a job database. I was ready for the run, when I changed out.

My scheduled run was for 4.0 and I did 3.5, so I was happy. I will admit that I was pretty tired from yesterday’s long run and my legs definitely did not like coming back up the hills. So I just moved along comfortably, without trying to push too hard.

Pace/Elevation Chart 3-27-12

Plus it was still a little muddy down-back, so I couldn’t just run, I had to pick my lines, otherwise you step in ankle-deep mud and I just didn’t feel like doing that today :-).

Just a little mud, this is the 2nd of 5 muddy areas 🙂

About half-way up the 2nd of 3 hills

RunLog 3-27-12

I can feel myself getting in better shape and am definitely losing the weight like I want too, but I notice that the lack of speed work is affecting my how fast I run a bit. I am pretty much staying over a 9:00 minute pace for almost all the runs now and you know something I really don’t mind. It is more important for me to have a good running base and get to my goal weight than it is to run fast now. Fast will come later :-).

During the run, I had a chance to think about what I am doing and know that it is the right time to start seriously thinking about re-entering the workforce. If I could get this job, I would be very happy, if not some other work that I will enjoy the work, are what is important to me now.

Now to double-check all the information I have done so far, make sure that the t’s are crossed and the i’s are dotted, while making sure I have all the correct terminology in the application (key words).

You know that run did make a difference, because before the run, I was still a little wishy-washy about applying for this position and I did a lot of thinking while I was running. After finishing I know that I am going in the right direction by applying for this job.

Anyone need a great worker, who lives in the Augusta, Maine area – I’m back and available! 🙂

3 comments on “Starting to Look Again & Felt Tired :-)

  1. Well Harold, having “retired” once and working my second career, I know for sure I would have to find something to keep my idle hands busy. If I had my way, I’d retire from this for good in 6 years. But mama won’t let me. Plus, I do enjoy what I do, still military related (hence all my trips to Baltimore; where I’m writing this now). I’d love to start a craft beer pub, since I have a passion for a few beers. 🙂

    Base work is good! I am working my base this week which is getting me where I want to be physically. I do want to be faster, but alas, it will come and I don’t wish to get an injury so close to this half. 19 more days…but who’s counting.

    I find that even though I’m tired or willing myself to chill in front of the tube or something, once I get the shoes and shorts on and start moving, I’m feeling much better. Plus, usually, I sleep much better when the day was tough and I get a run in, which is great too. YMMV (Your mileage may vary [pun intended for your pleasure])! 🙂

    • This was my second retirement and I am just not that good at it. I have been doing great for 9 months and gotten my health back and feel great, so it was worth it. But the budget and wanting to do a little more is causing me to start to look at my next foray into employment. I think you would approve of the direction I am headed and will let you know if I am selected 🙂

      Best off not changing much of nuthing this close to your goal race, just sit back and enjoy what you have trained for and yes you are counting and your taper will be tough, I hate tapering, but resting up leaves you with a lot of extra energy.

      I have been relaxing more and participating in social media less, reading and just enjoying life more 🙂

      Pun enjoyed. and sleep is better with a good workout.

  2. Best of luck with the application. I know what you mean about running being stress relieving…I suffer with stress and anxiety pretty bad, culminating in panic attacks. I was getting up to 3 or 4 a day, then I started running and now I get maybe 1 a week. The only lifestyle change I have made is running, so I can only put itdown to that together with the love and support of my hubs.

I moderate all comments, if it is inappropriate it will not be published.

