Recovery Day & Planning for 5K Race 4-3-12

After yesterday’s great run, today was a recovery day! Nothing hurt, but my body definitely felt tired.

My goal was to run 3.1 between 9:30 and 10:00 and I did exactly what I wanted, it helped that the wind was blowing a steady 15 mph out of the north for half of the run to keep me slower ;-).

The knees were a little grumpy about getting out there after a 3.5 mile walk down-back, but seemed to come around after a couple of miles, but there wasn’t a lot of speed in them either.

The biggest thing that I thought about during the run was what I wanted out of my 5K race on Saturday – do I?

  1. race it hard and wear my old Nike Air Flo’s and try for a sub 23:00
  2. run it faster than normal, wear my Newtons and go for sub 24:00
  3. run to enjoy the race and finish 24:00 to 26:00

Now I haven’t really done any speed work and just have focused on getting my mileage base in. Therefore, I am not in race or even real fast pace shape right now.

If I wear the Air Flo, I know that I will try to go too fast and race beyond my present conditioning, which probably is not in my best interests at this point of the season. Trying to run a 7:00 to 7:30 pace now would only result in me injuring something, so option 1 is out and I will leave the Air Flo’s at home.

Running a little faster than normal is what I finally decided on and just go with how I feel that morning, I am not going to push super hard and plan to use it as a good tempo workout. If I break 25:00 I would be happy, if I break 24:00 that will be gravy and anything faster than that would be totally unexpected and means that I had tailwind the whole way :-).

RunLog 4-3-12

5 comments on “Recovery Day & Planning for 5K Race 4-3-12

  1. Good luck Saturday! We’re taking my 4 yo and 8 yo to Great Wolf Lodge (indoor water park) Friday thru the weekend, so I may not get a chance to see how you did until I get back! Enjoy yourself!

    • Thanks – I have a feeling it will be 24-25 anything under that will be a pleasant surprise :-). Have fun and enjoy the time with the little ones, it goes sooooo fast they are a lot more important πŸ™‚

      • Based on what I see…and have observed lately…you’re going to be 22 – 23 minutes. You are smoking it. But as Erik writes his words of wisdom, I’d like to add, to punctuate, “The ultimate goals is what, again?” πŸ˜€ Enjoy yourself first, then worry. By the time you worry, it will be over. :p πŸ˜‰

  2. Harold, it sounds like you have a good plan. If you’re feeling 24 in the A.M., go for it, but if you don’t feel it as you go, then remember your long term goals and ease up. Boy that sure is easy to type…but really, really, really hard to follow πŸ™‚

I moderate all comments, if it is inappropriate it will not be published.

