Didn’t Want to But Did it Any Way 4-9-12

I really didn’t want to run this morning at all. We had company yesterday and they were both sick as dogs and I have a feeling that I am fighting whatever it is that they had – ah well.

Something just kept me going, not sure why, but I did.

Pace-Elevation Chart 4-9-12

The first mile was tough and then having to jump off into the woods for a minute or so didn’t help either. At about the 3.0 mile mark I came very close to just turning around and bagging the run. I had a hard time with keeping my focus on the run, but after I had my Vanilla Cliff Shot at the Augusta Town Line, by the time I got to Civic Center Dr. I felt a lot more like running than I had earlier.

Maybe it was the combination of the Achiva and Cliff Shot or just the running, but whatever it was, I was starting to feel a lot better than I had at first.

My splits were actually pretty decent considering how I was feeling when I started:

  • 1.0 – 8:41
  • 2.0 – 8:38
  • 3.0 – 9:04
  • 4.0 – 8:41
  • 5.0 – 8:55
  • 6.0 – 8:43
  • 7.0 – 8:40
  • 8.0 – 8:35
  • 9.0 – 8:29
  • 10.0 – 8:53
  • 11.0 – 8:55
  • 12.0 – 8:25
  • 13.0 – 7:56
  • 13:2 – 8:50

They were a lot more consistent than I thought they would be and as usual from Bond Brook Rd to the Rail Trail were my two slowest splits. I was pleasantly surprised at how much I was able to pick it up the last 2.0 miles and that I had enough left to break 8:00 for the last miles was pretty surprising.

When I got done, I was definitely tired and began to feel like crap again, so I am going to finish this post up and go take a nap to see if that helps at all :-).

RunLog 4-9-12

Very impressed that Kinvara 2, just went over 200 miles, it will be interesting to see how they are at the 300 mile point – it seems that is where the Saucony shoes seem to really start to go down hill for me. Hope these last longer, they did wear quickly for a while, but seem to have leveled off a bit over the last 50 miles. Who knows maybe all this effort to change my form is paying off and my shoes will last a lot longer than they used to :-).

2 comments on “Didn’t Want to But Did it Any Way 4-9-12

  1. Pingback: AVR – Running Week in Review–4/15/12 « A Veteran Runnah

I moderate all comments, if it is inappropriate it will not be published.

