AVR – Running Week in Review–4/15/12

P4120003Sorry about not having a running week in review last week, but my MacBook Pro died on me last Sunday and I didn’t have time or a computer to do one. Due to budgetary considerations and that a Mac never felt completely intuitive to me, I decided to go back to Windows and bought a laptop from Dell that meets my current needs.

I have spent most of this week either working on getting the Dell setup the way that I want it (about 85-90% done), working getting my resume and other job preparation ready to see if I can find a job, along with trying to fight off the bug that finally waylaid me yesterday, it has been a busy week.

This is a combo post, my Sunday daily run and my week in review, on Sundays I think it will just be easier to combine the two posts than try for separate ones from now on.

After finally getting waylaid by whatever is going around the house, I wasn’t sure if I was going to run or not today. It was fairly warm mid 70’s and I wanted to finish the week with just over 35 miles, so I figured I would just do the Middle Road loop.

I took it easy, had some water with me (took another inch in on my hip pouch) and plugged along. It was warm and I was glad that I had the water, acclimation to the hot weather running hasn’t happened yet and I feel sorry for the buggers that are going to be running Boston tomorrow.  I hope that they run smart.

Mary and Bennie were walking at the Steven’s Lower Gate and I decided that it was a great place to stop. My legs were dead, I was still a little weak from yesterday and while my pace wasn’t bad, it was definitely starting to slow down. I walked the last .5 with Mary and Bennie and really think it was the right decision.

Running Summary This Week

RunLog Week of 4/15/12

Harold RunLog 4-15-12

Miles walked this week: 13.7

Three things Running

  1. I ran even though I got busy: In the past when I got busy this way, I would tend to skip my runs, instead I ensured that my runs got done. When I got my new laptop instead of ripping into the box and getting it setup up, I put it beside the table and went for a 5k run – that just didn’t happen in the past. My priorities have definitely changed.
  2. Still doing my Long Run: The week before I had run a 1:52:44 half marathon training run and last Monday I came within a minute and a half of that even though I almost turned around at 3.0 miles because of not feeling all that well when I started.
  3. Ran even when not 100%:  I have been fighting the flu bug that hit the house all week. Some days it was tough to get the energy up to go run because I wasn’t feeling all that well, but I did it. Hopefully, after yesterday and giving in to being sick, that I can start moving forward again.

This week in a word: Over

Blog Posts

Below are my posts from last week:

  1. Gorgeous Day for a Run – 4/13/12
  2. Got Caught in the Rain–4/12/12
  3. Back to Windows
  4. Didn’t Want to But Did it Any Way 4-9-12
  5. Down & Without a Computer
  6. Fly Like an Eagle 5K Recap – 4/7/12
  7. Active Rest Day & a Milepost Passed 4-6-12
  8. Adding in those “Lovely” Hill Repeats 4-5-12
  9. Base Time for 10K 4-4-12
  10. Wordless Wednesday – 4/4/12
  11. Recovery Day & Planning for 5K Race 4-3-12
  12. Great Half-Marathon Training Run 4-2-12
  13. Running Clothes and Runners

I included the posts from the previous week as well, since there were not that many posts over the past couple of weeks. Hopefully now that I have a new computer that works, gotten most of the Resume (Federal and regular) and job search preliminaries done, that I will be able to get back to writing more blog posts and participate more on my social media sites.

I know that I have been kind of neglecting my online presence over the past month or so, but other priorities have taken over that amount of time that I previously devoted there. As things begin to clam down a bit, hopefully I will find a good balance.

Top 10

Here are my top ten posts for the past week based on page views:

  1. Tommie Copper Sleeve Review – First Impressions
  2. Fly Like an Eagle 5K Recap – 4/7/12
  3. Didn’t Want to But Did it Any Way 4-9-12
  4. Tommie Copper – Is Working
  5. My Transition Plan to Minimalist Running Shoes
  6. Back to Windows
  7. Possible Running Shoes – List Narrowed Down
  8. First Run in Asics Gel Blur 33 – 2/16/12
  9. My iPhone Running App
  10. Running Log Spreadsheet Template

My Favorite post from last week

Back to Windows – not everyone will agree with me and that is cool, but to be honest I am glad to be back on a Windows machine, the operating systems just feels more intuitive to me and I am quickly re-adapting to the differences that using Windows 7 means. Computers and their operating systems are tools that we use to communicate, write and for recreation – not something to get all wigged out over because someone is using one OS over the other.

Weight

I have bounced between 157-158 all week – I am still consistently under 160, so I am pretty damn happy about that.

Injuries

No injuries to really speak of, other than the usual stuff that is just going to be a part of my running until I stop, so no use about complaining or whining about them. Being sick isn’t an injury, but sure did slow me down a little bit this week and made running much less enjoyable.

Running Shoes

Saucony Kinvara

Kinvaras are not wearing nearly as quickly, now that I am using them only for my long runs over 6.0. They are still small but noticeable rips in the upper material, but they don’t seem to be getting any bigger. I am now over 200 miles in the Kinvara 2 and my legs are starting to feel a little more tired than they did before when I run in them, which is either a sign the shoes are starting to wear out or I am running farther and faster than I used to. Probably a little of both, but I am going to keep a close eye on it, but it sure would be nice to get at least another 100 miles out of them.

New Balance MT110

Unfortunately I haven’t run any trail runs in a couple of weeks, gonna change that this week, so I haven’t run in the 110s at all. However, I walk a lot in them everyday and just like how they fit and feel.

Newton Gravitas

I usually run in them for my shorter runs and am starting to use them more and more. They are over 50 miles now, so that means this week I will be doing my second review of them.  I have a bunch of thoughts to sort through on that.

Racing Schedule

I started a Google CalendarRunning In Maine 2012 with a lot of the dates of races in Maine during 2012. Yesterday I worked on updating and adding a lot of races to the calendar, so it is a lot better than it was before

I have it sort of narrowed down to the races listed below:

Date Name of Race Location Result
1/14/12 Belgrade, ME  40:00/4.0/8:53
4/7/12 Fly Like An Eagle 5k China, ME 23:48/3.1/7:40
4/28/12 Joseph’s 5K Fairfield, ME
5/26/12 Pineland Farms Trail Running 5K New Gloucester, ME
6/24/12 Rail Trail 1/2 Marathon Augusta, ME
7/4/12 Friends of the Fourth Winthrop, ME
7/12/12 Bond Brook 5K Race Series Augusta, ME Wednesday Evening
7/15/12 Bradbury Mountain 6 Miler Pownal, ME
7/19/12 Bond Brook 5K Race Series Augusta, ME Wednesday Evening
8/2/12 Bond Brook 5K Race Series Augusta, ME Thursday Evening
8/11/12 Topsham Fair 5K Topsham, ME
9/9/12 Bradbury Mountain 12 Pownal, ME
11/10/12 Maine-ly Moose 5k Portland, ME

As we go through the season, races will change and I have added the Bond Brook series already and taken out a couple of others Smile.

This at least gives me an idea of what I would like to run. I have also made a widget for the sidebar of this blog that has the calendar in it.  If you see any errors or other information that needs to be updated or added please let me know.

Running Goals

This section shouldn’t change too much from week to week, but I want to keep them right in front of me so that I don’t forget what my goals are

A slight change to my goals – is to make sure that I am enjoying running and not letting it become too much like work.

This year my big goals are to run 1,200 miles, run a sub 20:00 5K and get through 2012 without any significant down time or injuries (running related or others).  My unadvertised goals from the start of the year are to be able to finish a half-marathon (notice I said finish not race) and run a few trail races when the weather gets better.

My long-term goal will be to run the 2013 Marine Corps Marathon. I finished the 1983 Marathon and to run/finish Marine Corps again 30 years later would be very cool. This is one of the major goals that I have in mind for my running and it would be even more fantastic if I could qualify for Boston that same day. Therefore, I am doing a 2 year work-up to the Marathon distance, just to see if my knee will hold up.

The reality is that

This has been a pretty tough week of running, between being sick and starting my job I was pleasantly surprised at being able to get in 35 miles for the week Smile.

Thank You again for your support and reading posts from “A Veteran Runnah“.

Keep smiling and good things will happen! 🙂

Originally written by Harold Shaw published at “A Veteran Runnah” © 2011 – All Rights Reserved. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Harold Shaw and A Veteran Runnah” with appropriate and specific directions or links to the original content.
2 comments on “AVR – Running Week in Review–4/15/12

  1. Awesomesauce on getting 35 miles in! Things change as life does…everyone endures and “finds a way” to get it done. You are no different. I can’t comment on the Mac thing, never tried one, but I hear going to a Windows based PC is more a tough mental process than anything else. Kepp posting and I’ll keep reading no matter the frequency, deal?! 🙂

I moderate all comments, if it is inappropriate it will not be published.

