Just a Bit Warm 4-17-12

P4160024Yes it was a warm day, but not nearly as hot as it was in Boston for the Marathon, plus we had a pretty strong breeze. I did get to listen to the race though and felt sorry for those who were finishing later in the day.

Running was brutal out there, for going that far. Congratulations to all of those who ran Boston on such a tough day to run it.

This morning started early, I had an 8:00 A.M. eye appointment (which is part of  this healthy-living thing I am doing) which meant that we had to get up at 5:30 yes A.M. Oh well it is a half hour later than I was getting up the last two years that I taught, so I guess it wasn’t all that hard.

The good part was that everything was great and there were no changes since my last eye doctor appointment. I even ordered a new pair of glasses (trifocals again – you know getting older really sucks), my present ones are getting pretty scratched up. Need to be able to see clearly on those trails – right.

The hard part of the exam was that they chemically dilated my eyes during the exam.

This always makes me nauseous and I can’t see very well or be outside even with sunglasses for a few hours, which meant no long run today.  The eye doctors always say it wears off in a couple of hours – well it takes most of the day for me, they poo poo me when I tell them that, but it was about 3:00 P.M. before could actually start to see fairly well again. When I got home about the best thing I could do was just shut my eyes and take a nap after we got home, so I did.

Back to running, I waited until 3:30 to go for my run and wore those “sunglasses” they give you, until they were bothering me worse than the sun was and I just carried them the rest of the run. That is one thing I am going to have to invest in is a pair of sun shades for my glasses or break down and get a pair “cool” prescription glasses.

Back to the Run

I ran to the town office and added the mile on at the end. I went slow and steady, pushing a little on the hills to keep a steady pace, but not trying for anything fast, just trying to get acclimated to hotter weather.

Tomorrow will be the real test, when I do my long run, should be interesting. Bringing an extra water bottle for that run Smile.

I did get to try out the Zensah compression socks that I just in the mail this morning and will be putting together a review later tonight on my first impressions. Very, Very positive impression so far.

Overall it was a nice and easy run in preparation for tomorrow’s long one.

Harold RunLog 4-17-12

2 comments on “Just a Bit Warm 4-17-12

I moderate all comments, if it is inappropriate it will not be published.

