Newton Gravity–After 50 Miles

My Newton Gravity’s now have 62 miles on them and my 50 mile review is past due.

When I got my Newton’s, I hadn’t really seen them up close and I was going on the many rave reviews of the shoes by people I trust and respect. I have worked hard on changing my running style to a forefoot landing and everything that I read, made me think that the Newton’s would be a perfect fit for the direction I want to go with my running.

Even my cat Domino wanted to get a closer look at them Nerd smile

P4160039

I have used the Gravity’s as my short run shoes in my shoe rotation, which has helped to extend the life of my primary running shoes and allowed me to acclimate to them slowly. However, after yesterday’s long run, I decided that it is time for the Gravity’s to be my primary running shoes and my others, to become my short run shoes in a couple of weeks.

I want to run just in the Newton’s for a while and see how it goes.

P4160019

Construction/Fit

The Gravity’s are a very well-made shoe with no flaws and are extremely comfortable to wear. Which is exactly what you would expect from a shoe that retails for $175.00 as far as quality and workmanship go.

I have a feeling I would just go with my normal size 8 or go to a store and get fitted correctly next time. Mine fit nicely, but seem just a little too big in the toe box.

However, it wasn’t and isn’t enough of a size issue for me to send them back. It seems this year’s models are true to size according to the Newton website.

“Sizing: For customers who are new to Newton Running, this shoe runs true to size. Current Newton Running customers may wish to go down a half size from your current Newton Running size.”

How are they to run in?

The Gravity has Newton’s patented Action/Reaction Technology™, does help me “feel” the difference when I am running with a proper landing versus when I am are landing on my heel. The running action does not feel as comfortable or as efficient when I don’t land properly.

This is the biggest difference between the Newton’s and other running shoes and it is a big difference.

Break-in Your Body

However, there is a break-in your body to the shoes acclimation period, that can be short or long depending upon how much or little you have run with a more of a forefoot landing and the type of shoes you have run in.

I was fairly lucky and had moved towards more minimal shoes before getting the Newton’s and had worked a lot on my form to land more on my forefoot. Even so, I still had to take a couple of weeks to get used to running in them.

They have helped me to focus on landing more on my forefoot and even when I run in my other shoes, I still think “land, lever, lift”. So the reminder and the technology is working to help me run with a more natural running style no matter what shoe I am running in.

How are they wearing?

Pictures are worth a 1,000 words:

P4160036

P4160037

My wear pattern is wearing the outside of the lug first. Not as much wear on the heels as I usually do, because I am focused more on landing on my forefoot and avoiding heel strike. There is also a little more wear on the toe area, which indicates that I am pushing off with my toes too much instead of lifting.

Based on the wear patterns I am seeing, these shoes should get over 500 miles on them and possibly even more as my form continues to improve. No I do not have perfect form, so there are going to be issues with wear.

I do wish that Newton would offer one of their Natural Running clinics up heah in Maine, so I could get some good feedback on things that I need work on to continue improving my form.

Drawback

The only drawback for me about the Newton Gravity is the retail price of $175.00. They have less pricey editions of their shoes, but they are still in the $140 range.

When I got my Gravities’, I got one hell of an end of year close-out price from the Natural Running Store, so the price for these was very reasonable, otherwise I would not have been able to afford to get them.

The price of one pair of Newton’s is a daunting hurdle to overcome in my budget conscious world. I have heard the arguments for buying the Newton’s regardless of their price. However, to be completely honest, if I needed to go out and pay full retail today, I would be very hard-pressed to pull the trigger.

The reality is that

Don’t get me wrong, I love the Newton’s so far and am ecstatic that I got them and really love running in them. It does mean, that I will be on the watch for great deals on them in the future, so that I can afford them.

Or if Newton need a great wear-tester, I know someone who is available Smile.

The next few months will really help me make up my mind about how great the Newton Gravities’ are. If I go out and start taking big chunks of time off my runs, especially my long runs (where the reaction energy return technology is supposed to shine) and I get up into the 500-700 mile range with life still in these shoes, then I will have to really do some thinking and pleading talking with the wife. Secret telling smile

51 comments on “Newton Gravity–After 50 Miles

  1. I have the Newton Terra Momentus & Gravity. I was just running in the winter so used the Momentus as my slush/snow/ice shoe. I also ran a marathon around China Lake (my own personal one, didn’t want to pay entry fee & travel) in them. Now I am running a lot of trails at Goodwill Hinckley in the Momentus. Although trail shoes they are more like road shoes and transition nicely between the two. The Gravitiy shoes I’ve been racing in. They seem to really make you run fast and perform best at a certain higher speed or cadence. They just don’t seem as comfy for slow long runs. For me also, the Gravity seems to more toe box than I need, but the size below is too small. The Momentus fit like a slipper. Two different totally different shoes though.

    • How are the trails at Hinckley now? I used to work there and one of the things we did was trail maintenance during the summer, may have to go back over and run them again if they are not in too bad shape :-). I almost got a pair of Momentus, but for a little more I got the Gravity. If had had the money would have gotten both :-). I have found that if I run faster they seem to do better for me also, so I guess I will have to train to go faster. Yeah right ;-).

      • As you probably know, GWH seems to be going through a major transition. The trails are pretty neglected except where 4-wheelers/snowmobile trails traverse the property. I’m hoping with KVCC buying some of the property & with the new natural science high school there may be some focus on the trails. So much potential up there!

        • I agree with you, I used to run the trails a lot over there from 2001 to 2008. Oh well. Is the Martin Stream trail still passable or is it it just too overgrown and neglected to be run now?

          • Mine too. No it always seemed to stop and then you have to find the woods road to whichever direction you want to go. I usually head back through the trail to the cabin and then take the dirt road out.

  2. I think Newton is doing good stuff. I got to visit with Ian Adamson (which was a thrill for me!) at their offices last summer. It was fascinating to see and hear all that goes into their product. Good luck with them.

    • I agree and I love my Newton’s, the cost kind of gets in the way though, but if we shop carefully can find a way to get into them :-). From watching Ian on the videos they produce he does seem like a really great guy and someone that would nice meeting and picking his brain.

  3. Hey there! I’m the northeast educator for Newton Running and we do hold clinics up in Maine. To be specific at the Maine Running Co in Portland on May 17th from 5 to 7 pm. There will be a PowerPoint presentation at 5pm and a fitting at 6pm. I welcome you to come join us if you can. If you are farther north towards Bangor we just opened Cadillac Mountain Sports at their new location at the Bangor mall and plan on clinics in the future so keep your eyes open on that location! Thanks for all the great feedback!

    -Mike

    • FANTASTIC!!!!! May 17th in Portland – Actually I am in the Augusta area so the distance is the same either way :-). I have it on my calendar, will you be doing any gait analysis with a few tips to improve? Is there a cost for the clinic? Thank you for the information and look forward to meeting you.

      Harold

  4. Harold,

    I would be happy to do a gait analysis. I will have my iPad with may and can film and dissect form with that pretty well. I will be covering theory primarily in the PowerPoint and answering question but after during the fitting I can do analysis and form work on a case by case basis. Thanks see you then.

  5. A) How awesome that Newton contacted you from this post! That is awesome customer service!
    B) I keep hearing about Newton’s but have never tried them, although I will admit– $175 does make me cringe a bit 🙂 My running shoes (Brooks Pure Cadence) are $120 and that even makes me a little sad! But, I guess if it’s worth it, then you do it, right?

    • Heather – I know that was super awesome and I plan to be there with bells on on the 17th (well I will be wearing my Newtons) 🙂

      The Gravity’s are $175 and they do have some that are less expensive, so it is just a question of timing and luck on finding the best deal I can when I need shoes next time. Good shoes are expensive – unfortunately.

  6. Great shoes are definitely worth the price – but I think $175 is pushing it big time. I did see the Newton display at the Boston Expo. All of those shoes together in one small space looked incredible. They felt super nice too. I wouldn’t mind going for a spin or two in them but then there’s that price that gets me. My current faves retail at $119 and I thought that was steep!

    • I was lucky and got mine on a big closeout deal, otherwise could not have afforded it. The real proof will be next Monday when I do my 13.1 mile training run – if I do it in under 1:45:00 I will say they are worth it ;-). When it comes time to replace them, I will have some tough decisions to make 🙂 But really I am very happy so far with them, we will see what happens.

    • Thanks Mike – I was in the same court as you and got lucky and found a closeout deal that I just couldn’t resist and took a chance on them. It was less than I was paying for my Kinvara 2’s. I would love to try either the MV2 racing flat ($125 retail) or the Distance neutral trainer ($155 retail) if I can find them on closeout or a great deal someplace. Both are still pricey, but a little closer to my budget, we will see what happens 🙂

  7. Pingback: Nice, Easy Run–Needed It 4-18-12 « A Veteran Runnah

  8. I can’t resist. And while I come from an obvious bias it is in fact the cheapest shoe you’ll ever own. Here’s why. Using the kinvara as an example most stores will tell you it gets in the 300-400 mile range (400 is pushing it usually). A newton shoe is capable of not even just twice that but I get about three times that much mileage. And that’s because we don’t use Eva foam to cushion you. Those funny little bumps on the bottom of the shoe are not representative of some attempt to force you onto your forefoot they are in fact your cushion and they are suspended across a membrane which only loses 2% of its elasticity for every thousand miles. So in effect as long as you have lugs (our term for those bumps) you have cushion. On the top side the foam we use as the skeleton of the shoe is encapsulated so as to not allow the foam to pack down and to give you sensory feedback. In effect as long as you can prevent scuffing from rubbing the lugs away you are more than good to go. At that is why we have some runners that are capable of wearing our shoes well beyond 1000 miles like myself. So thats why if you look at it at a per mile perspective it’s the least expensive shoe you’ll ever own. Running with good form rewards you and it takes many people some time to be able to land underneath their body weight so as to minimize scuffing and give their newton the extreme long life they are indeed capable of.

    • Mike that is the kind of information that I want and need to hear and I think that many others do as well. There are a lot of misconceptions about the what the front lugs (Action/Reaction technology) actually does and how it leads to longer shoe life.

      We are used to the EVA being the cushioning and how that breaks down after a few hundred miles the I was not clear on how the ART contributed to the shoe’s cushioning ability. Learning what the new ART technology that is in Newtons does is a part of the learning curve we are doing here. Your putting it in layman’s terms clarified forme what the front lugs do (beyond helping me work on my form – which they help with). If I land incorrectly, I notice the difference and focus more on how I land.

      The initial price outlay is daunting for many of us (especially if we are used to a 2-3 shoe rotation), but as I run in the Newtons more, the more I like them. If they last past the 700 mile mark that would be a difference maker and really make me look at the Newtons as a cost effective shoe compared to others that wear much more quickly (usually between 200-300) miles for me.

      I just did an easy 8.2 in them this morning and there was a definite difference when I was done. So I am hopeful that the Newtons will be the running shoe solution that I have been looking for – for a long time.

      As to the scuffling, that is something I am definitely working on and why I asked for the gait analysis, I can use all the help I can get and am not too proud to admit :-). You will be seeing my form and gait about a month after starting to use the Newtons as my primary shoe, so you will also get to see my wear pattern as well. Thank you for clarifying somethings that I was having trouble wrapping my head around 🙂

      Harold

  9. Pingback: AVR Week In Review 4-22-12 « A Veteran Runnah

  10. Pingback: A Veteran Runnah

  11. Pingback: AVR – Week In Review 4/29/12 « A Veteran Runnah

  12. Pingback: April 2012 – Running in the Rear View Mirror « A Veteran Runnah

  13. Pingback: AVR – Week In Review 5/6/12 « A Veteran Runnah

  14. Pingback: AVR – Week In Review 5/13/12 « A Veteran Runnah

  15. Pingback: AVR – Week In Review 5/20/12 « A Veteran Runnah

  16. Pingback: AVR – Week In Review 5/27/12 « A Veteran Runnah

  17. Pingback: May 2012 – Running in the Rear View Mirror « A Veteran Runnah

  18. Pingback: AVR – Week In Review 6/10/12 « A Veteran Runnah

  19. Pingback: Week In Review – June 17th « A Veteran Runnah

  20. Pingback: Week in Review Ending 7-1-12 « A Veteran Runnah

  21. Pingback: Week In Review 7/22/12 | A Veteran Runnah

  22. Pingback: Week In Review–7/29/12 | A Veteran Runnah

  23. Pingback: July 2012 Recap | A Veteran Runnah

  24. Pingback: Week in Review 8/5/12 | A Veteran Runnah

  25. Pingback: Week In Review–8/12/12 | A Veteran Runnah

  26. Pingback: Week In Review 8-19-12 | A Veteran Runnah

  27. Pingback: Week In Review 8-19-12 | A Veteran Runnah

  28. Pingback: August 2012 Recap | A Veteran Runnah

  29. Pingback: Week In Review–9/2/12 | A Veteran Runnah

  30. Pingback: AVR–Week In Review 9/9/12 | A Veteran Runnah

  31. Pingback: AVR Week In Review–9/16/12 | A Veteran Runnah

  32. Pingback: Week in Review 9/23/12 | A Veteran Runnah

  33. Pingback: September 2012 Reviewed | A Veteran Runnah

  34. Pingback: AVR–Week In Review 10/7/12 | A Veteran Runnah

  35. Pingback: AVR Week In Review 10/14/12 | A Veteran Runnah

  36. Pingback: AVR – Week In Review #RWHalf the Main Story 10/21/12 | A Veteran Runnah

I moderate all comments, if it is inappropriate it will not be published.

