April 2012 – Running in the Rear View Mirror

Photo_by_David_Colby_Young_after_the_Joseph's_5K (picking out my Whoopie Pies 🙂

Photo at the start of the month, each month I plan to put my favorite photo in the monthly summary.

March is usually the weird month weather-wise you just never know what you are going to get. This year April and March were not all that different, one week we were battling snow/heavy rain, then 80 degree weather and then back to cold rain/snow and blustery wind – the old saying “just wait a minute the weather will be different”.

While I cut-back my running compared to March, it was planned and I feel a lot less tired at the end of April than I did at the end of March.  Blogging and social media have taken definitely a backseat to looking at finding a full-time job again. My sabbatical was great, but with the price of everything going up (officially there is no inflation – things just cost us more) our budget is stretched a little lot too thin. So to do the things we want to do, it is time to look at me getting a job again.

Now to figure out what I want to do when I grow up – if I ever decide to grow up 🙂 so wish me luck on this job search.

Running In March

I am making fantastic progress on my 2012 running goals 🙂

Summary

  • Miles Run: 145.4
  • Days Run: 25
  • Days Off:    05
  • Longest Run: 13.2 miles on 4/9/12
  • Fastest Run:  7:33 pace for 3.1 miles on 4/28/12
  • Best Week: 40.03  week ending  4/22/12
Monthly Summary March 2012

Shoes Run In

  • Saucony Kinvara 2 – I now have 222.2 miles on these shoes and my knees and hips are starting to ache after running in them. I like them a lot, but the sole is wearing on the outer forefoot and there are small tears in the upper, so I am not sure how the durability will be long-term. I sort of retired the Kinvara, but due to other circumstances have had to bring them back and will be using them for longer runs for a while longer.
  • New Balance MT110 – I have used these more for walking shoes this month than running trails with them, I really, really love the way they fit and how they allow me to walk. I tend to take smaller, quicker steps than I do with other shoes and my knees and back don’t hurt nearly as much as they used to, even though I am running and walking a lot more.
  • Newton Gravity – I really, really liked how I was running in them, until they developed a rub spot on my right ankle. Which kept getting worse whenever I ran in the Gravity’s. I have put them in the closet until my ankle heals completely and will try them again at that time. It is too bad because I really like the Newtons.
Races Run
4/7/12 – Fly Like an Eagle 5K
4/28/12 – Joseph’s 24th Annual 5K
Next Scheduled race is: Not sure

Summary: I am still well over my 100 mile monthly goal with over 140 miles for the month!  I enjoy my weekly long run and once I get my running shoes straightened out and they maybe even creep up to 15.0 range, but I don’t need multiple double-digit runs in the same week and I think keeping the others to a max of 6.0-7.0 miles or so is in my best interests.

This month in a word: Consistent

Weight

I ended March at 157 and started April at 155 two pounds in a month – it doesn’t sound like a lot, but the reality is that it is in that 155 is MY GOAL WEIGHT, so it is a huge deal! I really believe that the number of long runs and mileage that I am putting in is getting the weight down.
With better weather on the horizon, I have a feeling that I will be hitting my goal weight and staying between 150-155 which is where TheWife would like me to stay and I think that is a good weight for me to be at.
41 pounds lost since June 17, 2012

Injuries

No real injuries this month, other than the Newton’s rubbing my right ankle raw and causing the dreaded bloody sock.  The right knee is not complaining very often, but I have to be careful to give it rest and a chance to recuperate after a long or hard run. Just have to keep training smart 🙂

Run Blogging

Top Ten Blog Posts for March – based on pageviews
  1. Newton Gravity–After 50 Miles
  2. Tommie Copper Sleeve Review – First Impressions
  3. Tommie Copper – Is Working
  4. Running Clothes and Runners
  5. First Run in Asics Gel Blur 33 – 2/16/12
  6. My Transition Plan to Minimalist Running Shoes
  7. Fly Like an Eagle 5K Recap – 4/7/12
  8. Running Log Spreadsheet Template
  9. Narrowed the Choices Down to 5 Running Shoes
  10. Knowing What You Eat

With everything going on I have cut way back on my blogging and time on Twitter/Facebook and Google + over the past month.  Too much going on with trying to get the yard cleaned up. cutting firewood, garden ready and do some job search on the side, in addition to doing some stuff with the VA.

So it should be an interesting next couple of weeks, whether I want them to be interesting or not.

Reviews

One of the things that I really like to do is to review new gear. Whether I buy something myself or provided a product to review, I enjoy trying it out and seeing if it works as advertised or not. But more importantly – whether I like it or not and why. Blogging about running related products makes me think differently about what I am using – which is a good thing.
I have done the following product reviews this month:
 Newton Gravity–After 50 Miles – Personal Purchase
I didn’t have many opportunities to review products this month, but that is okay, I enjoyed just focusing on my running for a change.
FTC Disclaimer – Unless indicated by {Personal Purchase} I was provided products from these companies free of charge, to review them on my blog. I received no monetary or other forms of compensation to do the review. My opinions about each product are my honest observations, based upon my experience while using the product.

Running Goals

A slight change to my goals – is to make sure that I am enjoying running and not letting it become too much like work.

Good progress, while I worked hard at my running, I didn’t allow it to become work. I still look forward to my runs and don’t get too wound up about them if they are not quite what I am looking for that day 🙂

This year my big goals are:

  1. Run 1,200 miles – I am ahead of schedule having a total of 372.3 miles through three-month.
  2. Run a sub 20:00 5K  – This will be very tough to do, but for now I am working on my mileage base and not worrying too much about speed, in training runs last month, I ran at an 8:11 pace for a 5K, so I hope to break 8:00’s on 4/7, but I am not too worried about it either way. However, to meet this goal I will have to start doing a lot more speed work.
  3. Get through 2012 without any significant down time or injuries (running related or others).  Just some aches and strains so far
  4. My unadvertised goals from the start of the year are to be able to finish a half-marathon. Ran a 2:01:44 for a training run last week, so I am way ahead of schedule for this one.
  5. Run a few trail races when the weather gets better – Running some trails but not scheduled for any races until Memorial Day weekend.

My long-term goal will be to run the 2013 Marine Corps Marathon. I finished the 1983 Marathon and to run/finish Marine Corps again 30 years later would be very cool. This is one of the major goals that I have in mind for my running and it would be even more fantastic if I could qualify for Boston that same day. Therefore, I am doing a 2 year work-up to the Marathon distance, just to see if my knee will hold up.

The reality is that

April was a great month for running in spite of the crazy weather and reducing my mileage from March. I ran in a couple of 5K’s and know that I need to do speed work, to really start improving that time much more.  My big goal for May are to keep running consistently, figuring out what is going on with the Newton’s (I will not continue to run in them if they rub my ankle bloody) and start looking at replacements for the Kinvara 2, so that when they are done, I will have an idea of the replacement shoe that I will be adding to my shoe rotation. It might be the Kinvara 3, Nike Free 3 (4mm drop version) which I can get locally or something from online if the stars happen to align just right.
Wish me luck on my job search 🙂
Keep smiling and good things will happen! 🙂
Originally written by Harold Shaw published  at A Veteran Runnah © 2012 – All Rights Reserved. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Harold Shaw  and A Veteran Runnah with appropriate and specific directions or links to the original content.
By Harold L. Shaw Posted in Running

I moderate all comments, if it is inappropriate it will not be published.

