AVR – Week In Review 5/6/12

This week has been pretty much devoted to meeting with people, working on my private and Federal resume, updating my LinkedIn profile and updating my other blog a lot including a name change to Professional Crossroads. So I have needed my running a lot to keep a balance in my life and not just let the “work search” side take over.

I have kept up my running, but had my lowest weekly mileage in a long time – I still went over 20 miles for the week. I didn’t get to do a long run because of the schedule, plus I didn’t want to run too much more than 6.0 miles in my Nike Presto Faze (they are pretty old and I can feel it in my knee and left achilles when I run in them). On Thursday I was finally able to run in my Kinvara 2’s again without it bothering the rub spot on my right ankle. However, when I tried to run on Friday my left achilles area felt sore, I took the day off and took Saturday off too.

Today I ran a quick 5K and pushed the 2nd mile a little harder than usual. The left achilles was a little sore, but really didn’t seem too bad and I felt great during the run.

Running Summary This Week

RunLog Week of 5/6/12

Miles walked this week: 14.3

Three things Running

  1. Two Days Off and only 22.43 miles for the week: My lowest total in a long time, but that is okay, I needed a good cut-back week to allow my body a chance to recuperate a little and let the muscles heal.
  2.  Life Get’s in the way: Sometimes life gets in the way of running and while I could have run longer or more, I wasn’t focused on running nearly as much as I have been for the past 4 months. Looking for a job and doing all the preliminary work to prepare for the job search is very time consuming, compared to how it used to be – if you want to do it right – and I do.
  3. Long Run: No long run this week for the first time in a long time, felt weird not have that double-digit run during the week. I missed it and am learning that I enjoy that 2 hour period where I am just running.

Last week my goal was to start pushing going up the hills and I did that a lot more this week. Instead of just plugging along up them I attacked them and it made a noticeable difference in my mindset towards them.

This week in two words: Job search

Blog Posts

Below are my posts from last week:

  1. April 2012 – Running in the Rear View Mirror
  2. Two for One Today–5/1/12
  3. Goodbye BobbieBoo
  4. Easy Run to Recover from Yesterday 5/3/12

I know that I have neglected my online presence for a while now and have tried to be more active on Facebook and Twitter, but other priorities are still claiming a lot of my that I previously devoted there. But I am finding a little more time to comment or reply to what others are saying.

Top 10

Here are my top ten posts for the past week based on page views

  1.  Tommie Copper Sleeve Review – First Impressions
  2. First Run in Asics Gel Blur 33 – 2/16/12
  3. My Transition Plan to Minimalist Running Shoes
  4. Newton Gravity–After 50 Miles
  5. Wordless Wednesday – 2/1/12
  6. Running Log Spreadsheet Template
  7. Goodbye BobbieBoo
  8. Tommie Copper – Is Working
  9. First Run in New Balance Minimus Trail 20
  10. Narrowed the Choices Down to 5 Running Shoes

Weight

I have stayed between 154-156 this week on my morning weigh-in, which means that I am still making progress! I expect the weight to fluctuate daily, so a three-pound range is great! The best part is that I am starting to hit 155 more often and even am starting to get under it once in a while.

Injuries

Less of an injury and more of an inconvenience, where my Newton’s rubbed my right ankle raw and I had a few bloody sock runs this week. It still has a scab on it and is painful when I press on it, so I am still a few days away from trying the Newton’s again. My left achilles is bothering a little from running in the older shoes, but other than that everything feels pretty darn good. I just have to work on some tightness in my hip flexor :-).

Running Shoes

Saucony Kinvara

These are going back to being my primary shoe now that I can run in them without re-aggravating the rub spot on my right ankle. Just have to re-adjust stride slightly in them compared to other shoes.

New Balance MT110

Unfortunately I haven’t run any trail runs in a couple of weeks, gonna change that this week, so I haven’t run in the 110s at all. However, I walk a lot in them everyday and just like how they fit and feel.

Newton Gravitas

Didn’t run in them.

Nike Presto Faze

They did a god job of allowing me to get my ankle healed and still be able to run. However, I can tell they are old shoes, my knees and achilles are bothering me a little too much to run in very far or to be my primary running shoes.

Racing Schedule

I started a Google Calendar – Running In Maine 2012 with a lot of the dates of races in Maine during 2012. Yesterday I worked on updating and adding a lot of races to the calendar, so it is a lot better than it was before

I have it sort of narrowed down to the races listed below:

Date Name of Race Location Result
1/14/12 Belgrade, ME 40:00/4.0/8:53
4/7/12 Fly Like An Eagle 5k China, ME 23:48/3.1/7:40
4/28/12 Joseph’s 5K Fairfield, ME 23:25/3.1/7:33
5/26/12 Pineland Farms Trail Running 5K New Gloucester, ME
6/24/12 Rail Trail 1/2 Marathon Augusta, ME
7/4/12 Friends of the Fourth Winthrop, ME
7/12/12 Bond Brook 5K Race Series Augusta, ME Wednesday Evening
7/15/12 Bradbury Mountain 6 Miler Pownal, ME
7/19/12 Bond Brook 5K Race Series Augusta, ME Wednesday Evening
8/2/12 Bond Brook 5K Race Series Augusta, ME Thursday Evening
8/11/12 Topsham Fair 5K Topsham, ME
9/9/12 Bradbury Mountain 12 Pownal, ME
11/10/12 Maine-ly Moose 5k Portland, ME

As we go through the season, races will change and I have added the Bond Brook series already and taken out a couple of others Smile.

This at least gives me an idea of what I would like to run. I have also made a widget for the sidebar of this blog that has the calendar in it. If you see any errors or other information that needs to be updated or added please let me know.

Running Goals

This section shouldn’t change too much from week to week, but I want to keep them right in front of me so that I don’t forget what my goals are

A slight change to my goals – is to make sure that I am enjoying running and not letting it become too much like work.

This year my big goals are to run 1,200 miles, run a sub 20:00 5K and get through 2012 without any significant down time or injuries (running related or others). My unadvertised goals from the start of the year are to be able to finish a half-marathon (notice I said finish not race) and run a few trail races when the weather gets better.

My long-term goal will be to run the 2013 Marine Corps Marathon. I finished the 1983 Marathon and to run/finish Marine Corps again 30 years later would be very cool. This is one of the major goals that I have in mind for my running and it would be even more fantastic if I could qualify for Boston that same day. Therefore, I am doing a 2 year work-up to the Marathon distance, just to see if my knee will hold up.

The reality is that

It was a good week to cutback on my mileage in light of the ankle issues, the achilles issue and my alternative exercise program that I have started. Cutting up firewood is taking a lot out of me, since it uses a lot different muscles than just running, but using a 22 pound chainsaw, hauling brush to chip and splitting/stacking firewood is definitely a workout Smile.

Thank You again for your support and reading posts from “A Veteran Runnah“.

Keep smiling and good things will happen! 🙂

Originally written by Harold Shaw published at “A Veteran Runnah” © 2011 – All Rights Reserved. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Harold Shaw and A Veteran Runnah” with appropriate and specific directions or links to the original content.
I moderate all comments, if it is inappropriate it will not be published.

