Newton Gravity – Running Shoe Surgery

Over the past couple of weeks I have had a problem with my Newton Gravity running shoes. The heal cup rubbed my outer right ankle raw, on the last few runs I ran in them. The old bloody sock routine, it was annoying and distracted me while I was running. So I put them away until the rub spot healed, it was a little deeper than I thought and took almost two weeks to heal.

Here is a link to my post about it.

Thursday I thought that the sore had healed enough to try the Newton’s again and ran in them again. No problems, but I wasn’t having problems on the shorter run, only when I went over 5 miles did they start to really bother me. Today I ran a little over 10 in them and they felt great until about the last mile and then they started to rub a little. No bloody sock, but there was a bit of discomfort which was distracting from me maintaining my pace. You know you think all the worst possible thing about the shoes.

Then just as I was finishing, I had a GREAT IDEA, shoe surgery.

What on earth are you talking about Harold?

I mean cutting open the shoe and then trimming down the heal counter, so that it doesn’t rub against my ankle anymore. Cut open an expensive pair of shoes to customize it so it works on my feet – this is something I have to see – especially the end result

If you look closely you can see the problem area between my fingers

My surgical instruments – scissors and a Leatherman

The Incision and the first pieces of plastic from the heal cup – removed.

The surgical procedure is complete and the patient was sewn back together. If you were not looking for it, you wouldn’t really notice

The plastic heal cup was pretty solid and even with all the padding around the ankle, the angle of my foot structure was just enough to have that plastic covered in foam rub too much and cause the bloody sock.

Why would I be willing to take the time to cut open a pair of running shoes, cut down the heal cup and then sew it back together?  Honestly, I like the shoes. The Newton Gravities are comfortable (except for this heal counter issue), help me run with the correct form and my knees and hips don’t ache when I get done running my longer runs in them.

Actually this is a pretty simple fix and only took about 1/2 an hour from start to finish and really I didn’t have a lot of choice. It was either do something about the rubbing problem or banish these great shoes to the back of the closet and be forced to go out and purchase yet another pair of running shoes. At least this way I can hopefully keep running in them without any problems.

I plan to run 5.0 in the morning, so I will get a chance to see how my shoe surgery works on my Newton’s. I will let you know after the run.

If this works will I be considered an unlicensed shoe doctor :-P.

One comment on “Newton Gravity – Running Shoe Surgery

  1. Pingback: AVR – Week In Review 5/13/12 « A Veteran Runnah

I moderate all comments, if it is inappropriate it will not be published.

