Effort is There – Speed Isn’t 5-28-12

I got busy and almost forgot to post my running log today ;-).

Monday’s are becoming my rest or shorter run days or so it seems. The schedule is working out that I am doing my long runs mainly on Tuesday now, so I will just go with it for a while, one of those be flexible things I guess.

Today I was just going to run an easy 3.1 and not worry about the time. Once I got out there I started feeling pretty good and picked it up pretty good during the second mile – almost getting to race pace – that was surprising. However, when I realized how fast I was going, I backed it down a couple of notches and just ran comfortably.

Splits 5-28-12

I am getting closer to that magic 8:00 minute average pace for my shorter training runs and I am feeling pretty good about that. The only thing is my mind believes that the effort that I am putting out, should be a 7:00 minute pace, not 8:00 and doesn’t believe how much harder I have to work to go faster now a days. The speed is no where near what it used to be for the same level of perceived effort. 🙂

Sometimes it just sucks getting older, but it sure is better than the alternative.

I just realized that I have gone over 400 miles of walking this year in addition to over 600 for running, so I am doing a lot better than I have for a long time and am very happy with the progress I have made over the past year.

I moderate all comments, if it is inappropriate it will not be published.

