Saving the Garden Instead of Running

Instead of running today, I have pretty much decided to take a DNR in the running log.

I really think that my body needs the rest more than it needs to go out and run in a downpour. Maybe I will change my mind after supper if it stops raining, but as of now, I don’t plan to run today.

I also did a first for me.

The garden was almost underwater and we were very afraid that we would lose it to drowning this afternoon.

It has rained hard, since just after midnight and the water level was within a few inches of covering our raised beds.

Garden Underwater 6-3-12

While taking Bennie on his 2.0 mile walk in the rain, I came up with one of those harebrained ideas to get rid of the water. I have an old submersible pump out in the garage, why not rig it up to pump water out of the garden. If you look close you can see my jury-rigged setup to stop the garden from drowning.

Yes I have a piece of screen over the pump, so it doesn’t suck up rocks and other crap.

Over the course of the afternoon, I have run the pump almost non-stop and have been able to keep the water below the raised bed system we use. I hate to think how many gallons of water we have pumped out, but it is enough to hopefully save the garden.

A Different View

You can see how high the water had gotten before I rigged the pump up and it has kept raining another 6 hours after that high water mark and is still raining as I write this post. Just a hell of a lot of rain today.

Never thought I would see the day when I had to pump out my garden – this was definitely a first for me.

Benny getting warm after his walk

Obligatory shot of Bennie on top of his dog 🙂 it is supposed to be on the cedar chest, but he wanted in the middle of our bed.

Hopefully, the garden will make it through this monsoon season and give us lots of veggies and greenery over the next few months. We sure as heck don’t want to start over.

Sometimes, you just have to think outside of the box, to come up with a way to make something work – this one worked pretty well.

2 comments on “Saving the Garden Instead of Running

  1. Sometimes rest is what the body needs-you probably nailed this choice. Good luck with the garden; desperate times call for desperate measures!

I moderate all comments, if it is inappropriate it will not be published.

