A Professional Crossroad was Crossed

P5260004As the title of this post states I crossed a professional crossroad yesterday.

We made a decision that significantly affects my present and future professional career and not in a direction that I originally expected Smile.

But it is definitely a good thing!

Backup

For the past year, I have been semi-retired or on sabbatical (or whatever to hell you want to call it). However, since April I have been actively looking for a job or career and returning to the world of work. Below are some of the different options that I have explored:

  • Returning to education
  • Finding work as a trainer/educator (not fitness related)
  • Applying to work at the Veterans Administration
  • Going into retail
  • Just keep doing what I am doing – staying retired

All of them have their advantages and disadvantages and I will not bore you with listing them here, but needless to say this job search has taken priority over many other things going on around me.

Opportunity Knocked

Then as a they say “something funny” happened along the way and a great opportunity knocked, but not for me.

Out of the blue – TheWife was offered a position that she/we couldn’t refuse and she accepted. To say that this changed everything was and is an understatement.

Ever since that happened we have been discussing the different options available to us with her taking that job.

When I got a call last Friday, to interview for a job that I have been trying to get for several years, everything came to a head and we had to make decisions on what we really needed to do.

I really wanted to go ahead and interview for the job. However, the more we discussed how it would be if both of us went back to work the more negatives there were. In the end we agreed that one of us needed to stay at home.

The Decision

After few days with a lot of thinking and talking, yesterday we decide that TheWife will be the the one to go back to work and that I will stay home and manage the home front.

Our decision best protects her, if anything should ever happen to me (not planning on it, but…), she would suddenly have to go back to work during a tough period. By her going back to work now she would already be working at something she has done and is well-respected at, in a worst case scenario.

Supporting her returning to work is simply the “right thing to do”.

Staying “Sort of Retired”

This does mean that I get to remain “sort of retired” which I have enjoyed more than anyone will ever know, over the past year. 

Now that the decision has been made, I am a lot less stressed about what comes next. Job searching and interviewing is stressful and to take that off my plate is a good thing.

This also means that I will be able to devote a little more time to opportunities with FitFluential or other stay at-home work possibilities, focus more on my blogging and continue to run a lot.

Still Not Totally Retired Smile

If you know of any work-at-home opportunities that a computer literate, geeky runner, who is a boomer – could earn some extra coin to keep him in running shoes – let me know. I am now open to different possibilities.

Who knows maybe I will be in shape to run a full marathon this fall and then a quick half 3-4 weeks later? We will see.

Until then I guess that I have to get my healthy cooking skills up to snuff, because once TheWife goes back, I become TheCook Winking smile.

That should be really interesting!

Run While You Can and Keep smiling – Good things will happen! Smile

Originally written by Harold Shaw published at "A Veteran Runnah" © 2012 – All Rights Reserved. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Harold Shaw and A Veteran Runnah" with appropriate and specific directions or links to the original content.
3 comments on “A Professional Crossroad was Crossed

    • Thanks we really thought it over and it really was a change. I have a feeling that it will work out for the best and allays some concerns that we have been having to protect her in the future. As she say, I get to be the housefrau for a while ;-).

I moderate all comments, if it is inappropriate it will not be published.

