The Week That Was June 24, 2012

Storm Coming InThis has been a great week for running and pretty darn good in other respects too – yeah I know what else is new Winking smile.

Decision Made

During the week TheWife and I made the decision to stop my job search and after really looking it over, it is in our best interests, that she go back to work and I stay home.

The decision-making process took up a lot of my time and energy this week. It was an important decision that will affect us in a lot of ways, for a long time. Especially, since I had a job interview lined-up and had to withdraw from the interview. So we had to make sure that we made as informed of a decision as possible and really had to agree that it was the correct direction to go.

This decision is a very good thing and reduces the stress about job searching tremendously. See my post A Professional Crossroad was Crossed for more.

Changes Coming

Over the next week or so, you will probably notice little changes on my various social media sites and this blog to reflect this change in direction.

Yes I already changed my theme to reflect the different direction that I am headed and probably sometime in the September/October timeframe plan to move to a self-hosted blog. That way I can take advantage of opportunities that I have had, but not been unable to participate in since A Veteran Runnah is currently hosted on WordPress.com.

It also means, you will get to follow my adventures as a “cook in training” and might even have to help me out with a healthy recipe or ideas from time-to-time.

Running Summary This Week

Weekly Summary 6-24-12

RunLog Week of 6/24/12

Three Things Running
  1. Over 40 Again: I have been over 40 miles a week for 5 out of the last 6 weeks and the body is not grumbling nearly as much about the added workload. I am also adding on close or over 20 miles of walking to this total, so my legs are getting plenty of work. The only problem is that I am hungry most of the time – but not trading this progress though.
  2. Track Workout: Went to the Colby Track in Waterville and did some speed work. It sure did feel a lot more comfortable than it did the week before. Now I just have to keep it up.
  3. Sub 1:50:00: For the fourth week in a row my weekly training 13.1 run was under 1:50, which is pretty fantastic. It was close, but I did it again.

I typically schedule Sunday’s as my rest day and that is what I am doing – if you don’t count the dog walks and probably getting out the chainsaw this afternoon – but no running. I thought about taking Wednesday off, but felt good, so I just ran that day. However, definitely can feel the need to rest today.

This week in two words: Decision Made

Blog Posts

Below are my posts from last week:

  1. Run to Waterville–RunLog 6-18-12
  2. Faster Recovery Run Than Expected
  3. Wordless Wednesday 6-20-12
  4. Surprise 7.0 Miles– 6/20/12
  5. A Professional Crossroad was Crossed
  6. Initial Impressions–Nike Free Run+3
  7. Thunder Storm Double Run–6/22/12
  8. Nike Free 4.0 v2 Over 200 Miles
  9. Saturday 10.0 Miler
  10. First Runs in Nike Free Run +3
  11. Welcome to

I plan to start writing more again, with the time that I was using to focus on my job search, so hopefully there will be an increase in posts, beyond my daily running log entries.

Top 10

Here are my top ten posts for the past week based on page views:

  1. Tommie Copper Sleeve Review – First Impressions
  2. Nike Free 4.0 v2 – After 50 Miles
  3. First Runs in Nike Free Run +3
  4. First Run in Asics Gel Blur 33 – 2/16/12
  5. The New Nike+ Website is Up
  6. Tommie Copper – Is Working
  7. Wordless Wednesday 6-20-12
  8. My Transition Plan to Minimalist Running Shoes
  9. Nike Free 4.0 v2 Over 200 Miles
  10. Initial Impressions–Nike Free Run+3

Weight

Holding steady between 150 and 154, the higher end continues to keep getting lower more often!

Injuries

No real injuries, just a couple of nagging aches and pains that are getting better. My left knee is a little cranky, but it is just letting me know it is still there Winking smile.

Running Shoes

Nike Free Run +3

I thought that I was getting the Nike Free 3.0 and instead I got the Nike Free Run+3 after I made a mistake when I was ordering. After trying them on, I decided to keep them, sometimes things happen for a reason. After running 10 miles in them yesterday without any problems, I believe that I made a good choice. See my post Initial Impressions–Nike Free Run+3 to learn more.

Nike Free 4.0 v2

I have over 200 miles on these shoes and still love them – Nike Free 4.0 v2 Over 200 Miles. So far they have been the best shoes for me that I have run in, in a long, long time. There isn’t very much wear on the soles and the uppers look pretty much like new.

Now I have good two shoe rotation, maybe they will last longer this way, instead of just relying primarily on one pair of shoes every day.

New Balance MT110

Still wearing them more for walking than trail running. Maybe the Bond Brook trail run series will re-kindle my interest in getting to the trails more, right now it is a matter of convenience more than anything.

Newton Gravitas

Haven’t run in them since I got the Nike Free’s.

Running Goals

This section shouldn’t change too much from week to week, but I want to keep them right in front of me so that I don’t forget what my goals are

Make sure that I am enjoying running and not letting it become too much like work.

This year my big goals are to run 1,200 miles, run a sub 20:00 5K and get through 2012 without any significant down time or injuries (running related or others). My unadvertised goals from the start of the year are to be able to finish a half-marathon (notice I said finish not race) and run a few trail races when the weather gets better.

My long-term goal will be to run the 2013 Marine Corps Marathon. I finished the 1983 Marathon and to run/finish Marine Corps again 30 years later would be very cool. This is one of the major goals that I have in mind for my running and it would be even more fantastic if I could qualify for Boston that same day. Therefore, I am doing a 2 year work-up to the Marathon distance, just to see if my knee will hold up.

The reality is that

Now that the job search situation has a solution, I can focus more on my blog, running, healthy living and all those other things that had taken a back seat while I was job searching. I do feel relieved that and that a ton of stress has been unloaded this week.

I know that it is not the traditional decision that many would make, but at this point in my life – I don’t mind being a little unconventional and am looking forward to the challenges and opportunities that this choice will give me.

Thank you for your support and reading posts from "A Veteran Runnah" this week.

Run While You Can and Keep smiling – good things will happen! Smile

Originally written by Harold Shaw published at "A Veteran Runnah" © 2012 – All Rights Reserved. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Harold Shaw and A Veteran Runnah" with appropriate and specific directions or links to the original content.
I moderate all comments, if it is inappropriate it will not be published.

