Setting the Record Straight

Adidas ThrasherThe other day I was talking with someone and I said I was looking at getting a different pair of Trail Shoes, because my current ones left the soles of my feet pretty damn sore after my two runs at Bond Brook on Thursday.

They said “Well you are just going to get some from Nike".

I told him that Nike didn’t have what I was looking for in a trail shoe and I was actually looking at a pair of trail shoes from Adidas. The person just went “huh – I thought with the way you were writing on your blog lately, it seemed that you had something going with Nike, beyond just being a Nike fanboy”.

I told him that I have no relationship with Nike, other than I was one of the many Nike+ Running Website beta testers, which ended in May.

Shocked

I have been writing a lot about the Nike Free’s that I bought myself or using a gift card and I did a post on being able to go head-to-toe with Nike gear, but it was all stuff that I purchased – none of it was free or in exchange for my blogging great things about their stuff.

No what I have blogged about Nike shoes/apparel were my own thoughts, where I talked about something that works for me and purchased with my own funds.

Setting things straight

For the record I have no formal or informal, active relationship with Nike or any other company for blogging on A Veteran Runnah

I want to ensure that there are no misunderstandings about who I am representing on A Veteran Runnah.

If I am provided a product to wear test or if paid to promote a product (which has not happened yet), I will make it very evident in the blog posts that I write, with the appropriate disclaimers very visible.

The other thing

To be honest, I am not really all that loyal to any brand of running gear.

Right now the Nike Frees are working great for me, however if a different shoe were to work better or the same for a lower price, I would probably take a close look at the other product.

If you looked in my running clothes drawers you would see products from New Balance, EMS, Adidas, Saucony, Reebok, Starter and Asics, as well as Nike.

The main thing thing that I look for when getting new running clothes and shoes is fit, construction and price – all three are important considerations. I admit that times I am biased towards Nike, but that is because I have had great luck with their product lines in the past, not because I have any other relationship with them.

If another company’s products work as good or better than Nike, I will use those products. I try to take advantage of end of year closeout sales, discount stores like Mardens or TJ Maxx and other sales when I buy most of my gear. I can’t remember the last time I paid full-price for running clothes – to be honest I am pretty frugal about what I buy.

Running shoes are usually the exception and it is hard for me to find shoes that I really like and that last more than a couple hundred miles. The Nike Frees that I have been running in have worked better than any shoes I have run in – in a long time and I have been bragging them up – maybe that is why that person thought that I was more than a Nike Fanboy.

The reality is that

this person’s comment took me completely by surprise and concerned me that if I was giving the impression that I had some kind of business relationship with Nike to “spread” the goodness of Nike around – that certainly is not the case.

If I do have a business relationship with a running gear/shoe company, you will know about it, because I will announce it and ensure that it is very evident who I am partnered with.

I hope that this clears up any misunderstandings about my non-relationship with Nike, other than liking their product enough to buy it with my own money.

Oh by the way, unless something changes in the next couple of days, I will probably be getting those Adidas Trail shoes, which are on closeout at a local store. No they are not minimalist shoes or a higher-end trail shoe, but they fit comfortably and will protect my feet a lot better than my current shoes.

2 comments on “Setting the Record Straight

  1. I hadn’t noticed that your writing was favouring Nike. Actually I still considered you to be impartial and assumed that you were just using some sort of Nike app to record your run data.

I moderate all comments, if it is inappropriate it will not be published.

