Initial Review & Run in Adidas Vigor TR

P7010023When I went back to get the Adidas Trail Shoes that I talked about yesterday, this afternoon – my size was gone, so I had to look for a something different.

Price and Protection

Price and protection were the most important things to me about this purchase.

I don’t plan on running all that much on trails, probably between 5 and 10 times a month, and only 3-8 miles at a time. So I really didn’t see the need to spend a lot of money on a high-end trail shoe.

I ended up getting the Adidas Vigor for about $60.00, it was on sale from $75.00, which I thought was a good deal.

P7010015

It always takes me about an hour to figure out which running shoes to actually buy.

I tried on 5-6 pair of shoes and finally the Vigor fit the best, didn’t feel like I was wearing high heels and look/feel like they are going to protect the bottoms of my feet while running over at Bond Brook. The fact that they are a good-looking shoe design doesn’t hurt too much either.

Video Review

Not Minimalist Shoes

The construction is certainly not a minimalist shoe and for trail running, I don’t think that I will mind a little more shoe after last week’s experience. The seams were straight and I don’t think that I would want to run in them without socks, the interior has a few areas that might create “wear” spots.

P7010014

Time to Run

I went straight from the store over to the University of Maine @ Augusta trail system, got changed up and prepared to run. UMA is a very easy trail system (no single track and the hills aren’t too bad).

P7010002

The only thing was that it was raining hard, which meant it was the absolute best day to try out a new pair of trail shoes – there was mud, wet grass, wet rocks, and the back field loop hadn’t been mown yet, so that was more challenge.

How did the Vigor’s perform?

Absolutely great.

I was pleasantly surprised at how well they did in the wet grass and packed mud that gets slimy and slippery. The best part was when I sought out rocks to step on, it wasn’t a big deal, the Vigor’s just handled them without any problems. I had great traction going up both the grassy hills and the loose dirt/rock hills.

P7010013

For a moderately priced pair of running shoes, I was very impressed with the fit and feel that the shoes had. No hotspots or areas that felt uncomfortable, they were just very comfortable to wear.

The Vigor’s are heavier shoes than I have run in lately, but I am not looking to win any trail races or set the course on fire with my speediness. I got these for the protection they offer my feet from the ground. I run trails to have fun and enjoy – when I step on rocks, roots or the small stumps left behind and it hurts, I am not crazy about bruises on the bottoms of my feet.

The reality is that

the Adidas Vigor’s seem to met my need for protecting my feet, I was able to get them at the right price and I think they are great looking shoes. Nothing wrong with going three for three.

Now to get over to Bond Brook or other trails and enjoy bombing around on them.

Murphy’s law of running – I got home and the sun was shining, but that was okay, I got to play in the mud and guck, and got my trail shoes dirty

Smile

Run While You Can and Keep smiling – Good things will happen!

Originally written by Harold Shaw published at “A Veteran Runnah” © 2012 – All Rights Reserved. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Harold Shaw and A Veteran Runnah” with appropriate and specific directions or links to the original content.

14 comments on “Initial Review & Run in Adidas Vigor TR

  1. Pingback: Running At UMA in the Rain 7-1-12 « A Veteran Runnah

  2. Pingback: Week in Review Ending 7-1-12 « A Veteran Runnah

  3. Pingback: Week In Review–7/8/12 « A Veteran Runnah

  4. Pingback: Week In Review 7/15/12 « A Veteran Runnah

  5. Pingback: Week In Review 7/22/12 | A Veteran Runnah

  6. Pingback: Week In Review–7/29/12 | A Veteran Runnah

  7. Pingback: July 2012 Recap | A Veteran Runnah

  8. Pingback: Week in Review 8/5/12 | A Veteran Runnah

  9. Pingback: Week In Review–8/12/12 | A Veteran Runnah

  10. Pingback: AVR–Week In Review 9/9/12 | A Veteran Runnah

  11. I tried actually running in these shoes also, after not really finding any reviews from people who actually ran in them. Unfortunately for me, I went out and did 10 miles on a hard gravel road, and for whatever reason the bursa sac where achilles connects (Haglund’s deformity) got inflamed. It has been about 6 months since that fateful day and the sac is still inflamed. I tried not running for 3 weeks, but when I started up again, it was exactly the same before.

    Best I can tell, something about this shoe and/or the surface I was running on caused an issue that had been lying dormant to come to the surface. I can’t say really what it was about the shoe that might be THAT different from my other shoes (Saucony Hurricane, Saucony Kinvara, Spira Stinger Elite) or whatever. Perhaps the sole was simply stiffer? I ran one other time in them, in the mud on a singletrack trail, and the grip was awesome. I think maybe the sole is just too stiff for me.

    Anyway, brintgs me to my question: Did you experience any achilles pain or anything in the Adidas?

    • Kurt – No pain in the achilles or any where else, I just found them a bit stiff, but I believe they have a rock plate in there and seem pretty heavy. However, I have only run 5-6 miles as my longest in them and don’t plan on running much more than that in them. For what I got them for, they seem to work quite well, but have a feeling if I was going to run further might look at something else.

  12. Pingback: September 2012 Reviewed | A Veteran Runnah

  13. Pingback: AVR – Week In Review #RWHalf the Main Story 10/21/12 | A Veteran Runnah

I moderate all comments, if it is inappropriate it will not be published.

