Yep A New Theme–The Old One Wasn’t Me

I really tried to use a more minimalist approach to how my blog looks, I really did.

However, I am not a white blog theme/minimalist fan. I like color and contrast.

I tried to be very conservative in my choices, after all I don’t want to scare anyone off with my choice of  blues, yellows, oranges and reds or other bright colors that I would prefer to use.
Smile

So I chose burgundy, white and silver as my primary colors, not too bright but still colorful enough to set it apart from all the minimalist blog themes out there.

These give my blog a little color, but not too much and keep it very readable which is very important (having been a Special Education Teacher, I try to be sensitive to the readability of my site).

AVR screenshot 7-18-12

I am not happy with the header, to say the least. The stretched appearance of the photos is caused by the formatting in WordPress has for this theme’s header section.

So I need to go in and update and figure out how to make my header look great. Here is what WordPress.com has to say about the header for this theme

You can upload a custom header image to be shown at the top of your site instead of the default one. On the next screen you will be able to crop the image.

Images of exactly 978 × 288 pixels will be used as-is.

If I go ahead and create a header with those dimensions, I will not have to worry about this stretched out look. Now to figure out how to do it correctly instead of simply using PowerPoint to create my header Winking smile.

I would like to use these photos or a couple others that I have had taken lately. Really, I have a feeling that I will have to think about getting a better camera, in order to do it right, oh well.

Let’s see how this works out.

I hope that you like the changes and once I get the header issues straightened around, I really think that I will like the color scheme that I am able to use with this theme.

8 comments on “Yep A New Theme–The Old One Wasn’t Me

  1. I really like this colour scheme. I know what you mean though, it’s hard to find one that’s ‘just right’. I want to change my theme but I know it will take me ages to decide on one.

    • It is just so tough to get the design, header and color pattern, sometimes it just happens, but other times it is such a struggle to find how you want to present yourself/blog to the world. WordPress.com has made it a lot easier to try a theme out without touching the life version.

  2. Pingback: Week In Review 7/22/12 | A Veteran Runnah

I moderate all comments, if it is inappropriate it will not be published.

