Week In Review–7/29/12

P7240156I made it back from Minnesota, safe and sound, which I thought was a good thing. Smile 

I am not a big traveller so as much as I enjoyed myself out there, seeing the grandkids, my daughter and her husband, it was great to be back home.

While I was out there, I might have helped create a new runnah, errr runner in my son-in-law. He even went out yesterday and bought a pair of new running shoes. Guess he wants to beat the old man, the next time I go out to Minnesota and he has even told me he will contribute a post or two about how his running is going.

My favorite post from the past week was: Major Milestone Run–7/27/12

Running Summary This Week


Weekly Summary 7-29-12

RunLog Week of 7/29/12

Three Things Running

  1. Still Over 40 Miles for the Week: I cam within a few miles of having another 50 mile week, but this was supposed to be my cutback week, so I didn’t push to get over 50. The base mileage I am putting together is starting to really pay off and I can feel the difference when I run.
  2. First Race Since April 28th: On Saturday, I ran in a small/local 5K and ran a 22:03/7:06 pace and was very happy about how I did. Definitely could have gone a little faster, if I had pushed more from the start and not lost focus on the hill coming back out of the Sidney recreation area. Next time.
  3. Running Streak: I purposely ended my running streak on Monday, it was starting to get too long and was becoming a little too important. It felt good to end it. I just don’t like have a long streak they seem to become the reason for running, instead of just running to run.
  4. This week in two words: Having Fun

Top 10 Posts

Here are my top ten posts for the past week based on page views:

  1. Tommie Copper Sleeve Review – First Impressions
  2. Nike Free 4.0 v2 – After 50 Miles
  3. My Transition Plan to Minimalist Running Shoes
  4. Running Priorities–Are They Changing?
  5. Tommie Copper – Is Working
  6. Retiring the Nike Free 4.0 v2
  7. Major Milestone Run–7/27/12
  8. First Run in Asics Gel Blur 33 – 2/16/12
  9. Newton Gravity–After 50 Miles
  10. Peter Golding Inaugural Memorial 5K Race Recap

Weight

I bounced between 147 and 150, which is great and these lower weights feels better for running. However, I was surprised, I actually lost weight while I was out in Minnesota, which was a first for me – loose weight while on vacation.

Injuries

No real injuries, just a couple of nagging aches and pains that are getting better.

Running Shoes

Nike Free 4.0 v2

I decided to retire the Nike Free 4.0 v2 as I discussed in this post – Retiring the Nike Free 4.0 v2

Altra Instincts

Here are my First Impressions and 50 Mile reviews of the Altra Instinct’s.

Adidas Vigor TR

These are my primary trail running shoes (Initial Review & Run in Adidas Vigor TR). I ran once in them over on the Colby College Trails and had a blast.

Newton Gravitas

No runs in them this week

Running Goals

I reviewed my 2012 running goals 2012 Mid-Year Goal Review and Update and updated them.

Surprisingly, without a whole lot of speed work, I almost attained my new annual goal of breaking 22:00 for a 5K at the race this Saturday.

The reality is that

I have had a blast out in Minnesota visiting my daughter, her husband and the grandkids. I look forward to the next time I visit.

Hopefully, there was some progress on the different doors that are opening for me and should have more answers by my birthday in a couple of weeks. Just have to be patient.

Thank you for your support and reading posts from "A Veteran Runnah" again  this week.

Run While You Can and Keep smiling – good things will happen! Smile

Originally written by Harold Shaw published at "A Veteran Runnah" © 2012 – All Rights Reserved. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Harold Shaw and A Veteran Runnah" with appropriate and specific directions or links to the original content.

2 comments on “Week In Review–7/29/12

  1. What!!! You lost weight?! How could that be?! but,but, I tried so hard to sabotage your regular diet! LOL

    I bet the real secret to your weight loss was the cinnamon rolls, I bet that’s what made the lbs melt right off :)…. I will ship some ASAP so that you can keep losing weight! 🙂

    • Unbelievable wasn’t it, even with eating all of those cinnamon rolls (which BTW WERE DELICIOUS). I don’t think in this heat they would hold up too well. I think it had more to do with running 6+ miles most days in 90+ degree weather and chasing around after a few little rugrats 😉 a lot more.

I moderate all comments, if it is inappropriate it will not be published.

