Budweiser Clydesdales and Virtual Racing–8/4/12

P8040025What do these photos of the Budweiser Clydesdale’s have to do with running, absolutely nothing.

I just thought that I would share these pictures, because the local Disk Golf Course next door somehow got them to come to our little neighborhood.

Needless to say it caused quite a stir, on our quiet country lane and it was so cool get this close to those beautiful animals, without the massive crowds that are usually around them.

P8040012

Back to running Smile

This afternoon’s run was a two-fer, I entered the Twitter 5K Road Race and the Run Your Thorns Off 5K, which were both virtual races, so my time for this run counted a couple of times.

Hot, yep 89 degrees, bright sunshine and humid as hell – which made it pretty miserable to run, but I had registered and didn’t want the dreaded DNS.

My time was 27:57 for the 5K, well 5K plus .4, but close enough, I am not going to win any prizes or anything, this was more motivation to do the distance and have fun with the run. I did both Smile.

P8040001Also I tried out my old Nike Air Flo’s again from the very early 90’s or late 80’s and there is just something about those shoes that feels fast to me. I plan to wear them for the next few road 5K’s I run to see if I can “go fast” in them, sort of like I used to.

I just have to do something about the laces, they are way too long!!!

They are kind of old and battered looking, kind of like me, but they should do fine for a couple of 5k’s and then someday when I get a new pair of racing flats, I will put them back in my sea bag, with my Marine Corps Marathon shirts from 82 and 83, along with some other race gear that has a lot of memories in them for me.

P8040002

My hamstrings were still really tight and sore, so that was something else that I had to think about and not stretch out my pace too much.

One good thing about this run was that I did finally figure out how to do my splits on my watch, but I had to go back to my Timex Ironman watch, my old Expedition only had capabilities for one split, the Ironman can record 50, so you can guess which one I am going to use for running.

  • Lap 1 – 6:45
  • Lap 2 – 7:34
  • Lap 3 – 7:22
  • Lap 4 – 6:15

Laps 1 and 4 were the same and 2 and 3 the same, so I was able to speed up fairly well the last half Smile.

Even though the Running Log says this is my third run today, it is only my second workout. The first run had a long gap in between laps at Back Cove and I didn’t think it was right to consider that one run.

RunLog 8-4-12.1

2 comments on “Budweiser Clydesdales and Virtual Racing–8/4/12

  1. I love those Clydesdale horses! So beautiful and such gentle giants.

    Nice going on the ‘twofer’ 5k today. I like your racing flats… the color especially. I think it is neat that you save your old shoes.

    • Those horses were so patient with some of the dumb people out there and the Budweiser Reps were very good with those people as well. I don’t usually keep old shoes, unless there is a special reason and I had these in my sea bag, waiting to run a very special race, but I need to run it pretty soon or they are just going to fall apart from everything being so old ;-). They were a very nice shoe in their day.

I moderate all comments, if it is inappropriate it will not be published.

