Decision Made on my Fall Marathon Plans

P8060003Today was decision day!

This was the day that I chose to make a decision about whether to run a fall marathon or not. Over the past couple of months I have been sort of – not so secretly increasing my mileage to the distances that I believe I need to be running in order for me to run, not just finish a marathon, without injuring myself.

In June I had 196 miles and in July I finished with 236 miles for the month. During most of the increase in my training mileage, I felt FANTASTIC, with no real issues with injuries or tremendous tiredness that can accompany that kind of increase.

That Changed Drastically

This week was going to be my final test and would help me make my decision about whether my body could hold up to what I want for my marathon training 60 plus miles per week. After my long run last Monday, my hamstrings were sore (they had been a little sore, since returning from Minnesota), but this was definitely a soreness that was a little more than just being sore from having run 16 miles.

The next day when I ran my hamstrings were still hurting, plus I felt like I was Rocky and had gone 15 rounds of boxing with Apollo Creed. This kept up for the next couple of days and when I did my 5K trail race, although I set a course PR, my hammies were definitely seriously barking at me, the whole way.

As a precaution I took Friday off to see if that helped with my hamstrings and the tiredness, it seemed to help some. However, when I ran on Saturday, there was no way I could do the planned 15-20 miles and ended up doing a total of half that. At that point, I had a pretty good idea that my body was having problems with the higher mileage that I was throwing at it.

I decided to take Sunday off and then even though I was scheduled for a long run today, while my hamstrings were better, but still were not feeling right, so I took today off as well.

Decision Made

My legs feel better now than they did earlier in the day, they needed the rest and so did I. Based on how felt this past week, I have made my decision to not run a fall marathon this year.

The reality is that

I have been back to running regularly less than a year since my surgery and making the choice to take control of my health. To be honest, I don’t want to screw up the progress I have made this year, by being too ambitious about what I do during my first year back to serious running.

The big goal is to run the 2013 Marine Corps Marathon and I want to be ready for that. This year is a build-up year for that race, so instead of risking injury, I have decided to be conservative and keep the distances to training for the half marathon (which in my mind includes a few 15-16 mile long runs)

As nice as it would have been to run a marathon this fall, to get the experience and build my confidence for running that distance – I am very comfortable with this decision not to run one this year. My body needs more time and a bigger base before I move up to the marathon distance – next year.

I guess that this is one of those things that I have learned as I have gotten a little older – a little patience and trying to listen to my body. Instead of just rushing out and doing it, then injuring myself and not being able to run at all.

Now I just have to figure out what races I want to race, now that I have decided to not run a marathon Smile.

Have you ever really, really wanted to run a certain race or distance, but your body told you not so subtly that it wasn’t a great idea at the time, what happened?

Did you crash and burn or did your body hold up just fine?

RunLog 8-6-12

4 comments on “Decision Made on my Fall Marathon Plans

  1. Hey Harold! Tough decision, but it sounds like you made the right one. I didn’t with pushing it last year and am still paying the price- not running like I did before pushing it with distances- and it’s been about 9-10 months. Way to listen to your body!

    • Erik – It was a tough decision and not the one I wanted to make, but I know it was the right one. I don’t have enough base to run a marathon and come away without an injury as a result of the race or the training that is necessary this year.

      Next year is my year, I said all along that this was going to be a 2 year process, but I had that hope/dream that I would be able to BQ this fall, run Boston in the Spring then MCM in the fall.

      This way I am focusing only on running MCM in 2013 and try for BQ there, probably better choice/plan in the long run. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Week In Review–8/12/12 | A Veteran Runnah

  3. Pingback: Week In Review 8-19-12 | A Veteran Runnah

I moderate all comments, if it is inappropriate it will not be published.

