Buying Adidas Adizero Sonic 3

P8140005As a result of my long day of thinking about how I was trying to fit a square peg into a round hole, I decided to go ahead and buy a pair of regular – non minimalist running shoes.

I find it both exciting and exasperating all at the same time to shop for new running shoes, because you are trying so hard to find that next perfect for you running shoe and you wonder if the shoe you chose was the right one and you don’t really know until around 200 miles the answer to that question.

I really wanted to try out the Mizuno Wave Rider 15’s or Musha’s, due to the Mezamashii Run Project marketing campaign and the many great reports of how the Mizuno shoes were so great, on many of the blogs that I read.

Mizuno

Unfortunately, the Dick’s Sporting Goods in Augusta didn’t carry Mizuno shoes, so I wasn’t able to try them on. Maybe next time!

So I tried on a bunch of different shoes:

  • Nike Pegasus 29
  • Saucony Ride 5
  • Brooks Pure Cadence
  • Brooks Ghost
  • Brooks Ravenna
  • Adidas Adizero Sonic 3

They all felt very different than the more minimalist shoes I have been running in this year (including the Pure Cadence which after trying it on I don’t really consider it a minimalist shoe). Eventually it came down to the Ghost’s and the Sonic’s. Once I got down to those two, I took almost 15 minutes to try to figure out which one would work better for me. Running around that little track in the two different shoes in various configurations.

They each were different feeling (the Ghost a little softer and the Sonics more firm), but both had their pros/cons. Finally, it came down to the difference in price and that I liked the tread pattern more and could use them on non-technical trail runs.

I chose the Adidas Adizero Sonic 3

P8140007

Like TheWife said when she saw them – “They are definitely orange!” and my stepdaughter smiled and just said “those are definitely a Harry shoe!”  Yep I got the orange and blue ones – and yes they are definitely orange.

The Sonics were very comfortable and I like the tread pattern on the bottom, which I can use on light trail runs or over at the Bond Brook for the 5K race series.

 P8140006

Plus looking at the sole, I think that they will wear longer than some of the shoes that I have been wearing lately.

These were not the highest rated shoe of the ones that I tried on, but they seemed to fit my needs the most. It will be interesting to see how they feel at the 100 mile mark, which really seems to be the point when I start to really notice the real pros and cons about a shoe.

Now to start running in them Smile.

5 comments on “Buying Adidas Adizero Sonic 3

    • I know what you mean, I have a four shoe rotation and have gone through 8 pair since February, I am a shoe addict too. Kerri, it is time to get some new Adizero’s got to have a fresh pair for the fall racing season 😉 hehheee

  1. Pingback: Week In Review 8-19-12 | A Veteran Runnah

I moderate all comments, if it is inappropriate it will not be published.

