Comfortable 5.0 Miler 8/17/12

This morning was a beautiful morning for a run 60’s, sunny and low humidity. Unfortunately, I didn’t get to run this morning and ended up running later in the afternoon when it was 85, sunny and felt a lot more humid.

No I am not complaining too much, but this morning would have been a much nicer time for a run, but anytime I can run is a good run and I enjoyed this one.

My splits were nothing to write home about, but with the heat and humidity, I was happy with the results.

  • 1.0 – 8:21
  • 2.0 – 16:34 (8:13)
  • Turnaround – 20:32 (3:58)
  • 4.0 – 32:35 (12:02)
  • 5.0 – 41:24 (8:49)

Overall pace for the 5.0 miles was: 8:16

I did try to pick it up between miles 2 and 4, but then slowed down the last mile. Overall, the run was good one and I didn’t feel bad at all during the run.

I am still getting used to the Adidas Adizero Sonic 3’s, this was my third run in them. I haven’t decided if they are a fast shoe or just a very comfortable shoe. I don’t feel all that fast when I am running in them, but when I look down at my watch, the times are not all that slow. I am liking the flexibility they give me with my various gaits, guess I just gotta put some more miles on them to figure it out.

Maybe the Sonics are just going to be one of those shoes that are good at a lot of things, but not exceptional in any one area. They are too heavy to be a real racing shoe, to stiff with too much drop and stack height to be minimal, not quite enough tread for technical trail or mud running, too much tread to be strictly a road shoe. Maybe they are just a good lightweight neutral trainer.

One thing that I have noticed is that my hamstrings are feeling a lot better now than they were earlier in the week and didn’t bother at all during the run.

RunLog 8-17-12

I moderate all comments, if it is inappropriate it will not be published.

