Week In Review 8-19-12

This was a ramp-up week, to get back up where I want – around 45 miles for the week, after my cut-back last week and I actually did it.

The aches in my hamstrings and right hip seem to be getting better (slowly) and if I stopped running for 4-5 days would be a lot better, but I will keep running and just go a little slower and watch my mileage.

My favorite post from the past week was: Fitting a Square Peg Into a Round Hole

Running Summary This Week


RunLog Week of 8/19/12

This week in two words: Decision Made

Top 10 Posts

Here are my top ten posts for the past week based on page views:

  1. Tommie Copper Sleeve Review – First Impressions
  2. Nike Free 4.0 v2 – After 50 Miles
  3. My Transition Plan to Minimalist Running Shoes
  4. The New Nike+ Website is Up
  5. Newton Gravity–After 50 Miles
  6. First Run in Asics Gel Blur 33 – 2/16/12
  7. Decision Made on my Fall Marathon Plans
  8. 50 Mile Review of Altra Instincts
  9. First Run in Adidas Adizero Sonic 3
  10. Buying Adidas Adizero Sonic 3

Weight

I bounced between 148 and 150, which is great, since my goal weight was 155!  I am holding pretty steady on my weight, which is what I want.

Injuries

No real injuries, but I have experienced a lot of discomfort in my hamstrings and right hip. They are starting to feel a lot better and I am running a lot more comfortably this weekend compared to last weekend. I did use a rolling-pin on my hip and while it was painful as hell, but after I got done, my hip did feel better and today I ran a lot easier than I have in a couple of weeks.

Running Shoes

Adidas Adizero Sonic 3

I decided to go ahead and get a pair of traditional neutral trainers and decided on the Sonic 3’s. So far I am liking them a lot. They are what I call a 90% shoe, they do 90% of what I want from a pair of shoes in a variety of conditions. They are not a strict road racer, not a trail shoe, not a track shoe, but I wouldn’t hesitate to use them in any of those situations. I have run a couple of double-digit runs in them and they protect my knees quite well, they feel comfortable  and have enough toe room for my toes to splay comfortably. So far I am happy with them.

Altra Instinct

I put them in the closet for a couple of weeks to see if they are part of the reason for my hamstrings and hips being sore. There is nothing wrong with these shoes, it comes down to figuring out if zero drop is compatible with my personal running style. I run differently in the Altra’s than I do in shoes with a higher stack height.

Adidas Vigor TR

No runs in them this week.

Newton Gravity

No runs in them this week.

Running Goals

I reviewed my 2012 running goals 2012 Mid-Year Goal Review and Update and updated them.

The reality is that

my hamstrings and hip are slowly getting better and I am starting to run more comfortably, after my cut-back week a couple of weeks ago. I got yet another pair of new shoes – the Adidas Adizero Sonic 3 and so far I have been happy with them.

Thank you for your support and reading posts from “A Veteran Runnah” again  this week.

Run While You Can and Keep smiling – good things will happen! Smile

Originally written by Harold Shaw published at “A Veteran Runnah” © 2012 – All Rights Reserved. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Harold Shaw and A Veteran Runnah” with appropriate and specific directions or links to the original content.

I moderate all comments, if it is inappropriate it will not be published.

