Double the Planned Run 8/21/12

Dad_8-21-12.1I planned on running only 3.0 miles today, but I went up and visited dad and then went out to eat and I had fried clams and French fries. Definitely not what I consider too healthy, but I don’t see dad all that much and I don’t eat this way very often.

I did blur out my Dad’s political message on his t-shirt. This is a running/fitness related blog – I try to keep politics out of here and yes my dad has some very deep held political beliefs.

When I got home, after driving an hour both ways in addition to the big lunch, I felt a little antsy and decided to run 5.0 down to Notta Road. I just ran pretty steady and wasn’t trying to do anything other than get my miles in. As I was coming back up Steven’s Hill, I was feeling pretty good, so I decided to add on another mile. I ended up running 6.0 miles, instead of my  planned 3.0 and I felt pretty good during the run.

My splits were:

  • 1.0 – 8:31
  • Turnaround 2.5 – 21:44 (13:12)
  • 4.0 – 35:06 (13:22)
  • 5.0 – 44:11 (9:05)
  • Finish – 53:28 (9:16)

This was supposed to be a recovery run and I kept forcing myself to run slower than I wanted to, in order to keep it that way.

I had plenty of energy and felt good that my hamstrings and hip were minor annoyances, instead of a source of discomfort that they have been.

The Adidas Adizero Sonic 3’s now have over 50 miles on them, so I will be putting together my 50 mile report on them sometime over the next couple of days.

RunLog 8-21-12

I moderate all comments, if it is inappropriate it will not be published.

