Week In Review 8-26-12

What a fantastic week!

I ran in Central Park and crossed it off my Bucket List.

I got to meet a lot of great people while I was in New York City for the weekend and have such a fantastic opportunity that I will talk a lot more about on September 17th.

As much as I whined and moaned about missing Maine, while I was in NYC, I did have a lot of fun and learned so much. Very glad that I got to go.

After the flight back to Maine, we walked around one of my favorite places to run – Back Bay in Portland, Maine

When I got home, I started to watch the Red Sox and promptly fell asleep. Not because the game was boring, but because I was exhausted.

It was a long weekend and while it was a great one, it took me way out of my comfort zone.  I know that when I do something new, have to operate at a high level or go someplace I haven’t been before, that after it is over – I am done.  Getting out of our comfort zones are something we really need to do and unless something happens to make us push the envelope, we typically just go down that comfortable path.

I needed that power nap to recharge my batteries – especially the mental ones.

After I woke up – almost an hour later, I decided to run 4.0 miles, just to get rid of the cobwebs and get the body moving. The run was slow and easy, which I needed, I felt pretty darn good, but just didn’t have a lot energy or focus. I was still thinking about all the stuff I have to over the next few weeks :-).

Running Summary This Week

RunLog Week of 8/26/12

This week in two words: Comfort Zone

Top 10 Posts

Here are my top ten posts for the past week based on page views:

  1. Tommie Copper Sleeve Review – First Impressions
  2. Nike Free 4.0 v2 – After 50 Miles
  3. 6 Things I have Learned While Running
  4. The New Nike+ Website is Up
  5. My Transition Plan to Minimalist Running Shoes
  6. Newton Gravity–After 50 Miles
  7. First Run in Asics Gel Blur 33 – 2/16/12
  8. Central Park Run-Crossed off Bucket List 8/24/12
  9. New Clothes and a Huge Surprise
  10. Tommie Copper – Is Working

Weight

I bounced between 148 and 150, which is great, since my goal weight for the year was 155!  Even going down to New York City and eating differently than usual, I stayed under 150, so that was pretty good.

Injuries

No real injuries, but I have experienced a lot of discomfort in my hamstrings and right hip. They are starting to feel a lot better and I am running a lot more comfortably this weekend compared to last weekend. I did use a rolling-pin on my hip and while it was painful as hell, but after I got done, my hip did feel better and today I ran a lot easier than I have in a couple of weeks.

Running Shoes

Adidas Adizero Sonic 3

The Sonic 3 are doing a great job, I took them on trails, dirt roads, roads and 2 long runs and didn’t have any issues with my feet or the shoes. They simply have done everything I have asked of them. I have 87.1 miles on them now and because of all of the stuff going on last week, I didn’t get a chance to do my usual 50 mile review and will do the review at 100 miles.

Altra Instinct

In the closet for a couple of weeks, until my hamstrings and hips are completely feeling better and then I will run my shorter runs in them, to see if the problems I encountered were caused by the zero drop or if it was something else. I do like the shoe and miss running in them and am looking forward to getting them back out of the closet.

Adidas Vigor TR

No runs in them this week.

Newton Gravity

No runs in them this week.

Running Goals

I reviewed my 2012 running goals 2012 Mid-Year Goal Review and Update and updated them.

The reality is that

my hamstrings and hip are getting better and I am starting to run a lot more comfortably. I still notice them a little when I am going at a faster pace, but it is not at the level it was a couple of weeks ago or even early last week.

Thank you for your support and reading posts from “A Veteran Runnah” again  this week.

Run While You Can and Keep smiling – good things will happen! Smile

Originally written by Harold Shaw published at “A Veteran Runnah” © 2012 – All Rights Reserved. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Harold Shaw and A Veteran Runnah” with appropriate and specific directions or links to the original content.

I moderate all comments, if it is inappropriate it will not be published.

