Recharging is Done – I Ran 3.1 Today! 9/1/12

IMG_0233I ran today!!! Yes by golly gumdrops – I ran and it didn’t hurt.

I know, I know it is a day early, but it was so gorgeous out that I just had to run.

You know – one of those days with low humidity, high 60’s, bright sunshine and a light breeze out of the North – an almost perfect day for running.

This week due to my self-imposed 4 days off, I have missed 4 of the best running days (weather-wise) in a long time and I couldn’t hold back any longer.

I don’t believe that one day was going to make too much of a difference – as long as I wasn’t stupid about my run.

Also I got to thinking last night – I know a dangerous thing.

The Adidas Adizero Sonic 3’s are a good shoe and I can run in them without too many issues. However, something is missing/lacking/different and I just can’t put my finger on, that makes me uncomfortable running in them.

After I read my old RunLog entries yesterday, I figured out that I ran great in my Newton Gravity’s, except for the heel counter cutting into my ankle. Since the shoe’s heel counter reduction surgery that has not been a problem.

Based on my RunLog entries and my lack of enthusiasm for the Sonic 3’s, (along with a lack of funds to go buy a pair of Mizuno Ronin 4’s).  I have decided that I will run my runs in the Newton Gravity’s this week to see how they feel and do now.

One thing I did notice about the Gravity’s when running in them today is how they reward me for running with better form and when I start to break down or get sloppy, I can tell quickly that I am. This if nothing else about the Newton’s is a huge benefit of running in them.

The run itself was great!

My legs didn’t feel like lead weights or that somebody had beat on my hamstrings or hip with a rubber hose. The right hip still felt a little off, but there was no discomfort during the steady 3.1 miles or when I did 4 150 yard pickups at a sub 7:00 mile pace – I know running fast was not supposed to happen, but I needed to know if things were going to hurt – they didn’t Smile.

My splits for the 3.1 were:

  1. 6.06
  2. 6:06 – 12:12
  3. 5:59 – 18:12
  4. 5:38 – 23:50

Each split is very close to .8 mile and I take a tenth off at the end just to call it good. I was very happy with the run, I had a little snap in my step, maintained good form, corrected it quickly when I got sloppy and was able to run well without really pushing hard.

The 4 days off from running helped me heal most of the minor aches and pains that had accumulated after a tough summer that had a lot of running. If you are like me and had accumulated a lot of minor aches and pains this summer and just feel tired. I strongly recommend that runners take a few days off, which is more than a couple, just to let your body recuperate and recharge.

I know that I couldn’t wait to run today and it felt great to be back at it.

One thing I am going to be very careful of is that I am going to ramp up slowly on my mileage. I plan to keep it between 30-35 miles next week and see how the body feels, before I go increasing it any. Also I don’t plan to run a long run for a couple of weeks.

However, with the fall racing season upon us, I really want to run a little faster. I think that my mileage base is pretty decent, so now I am purposely going train a little faster and start going to the track on Tuesday or Wednesdays for speed work and drills. The only way I know to run faster in races, is to run faster in training.

I would really like to have a fast 5K and a quick 1/2 Marathon in October.

The reality is that

Sometimes you just have to shut it down and rest a little, if you want to keep improving. Constantly pushing to do more, is not an effective way to run better. I know this, but sometimes in my wanting to just run, I forget the importance and healing power of resting too.

Here is to those 4 days off and hopefully an injury free fall running season Smile.

RunLog 9-1-12

  • Have you ever forced yourself to take more than a couple of days off from running, even though you could have run?
  • How hard was it for you to do that?
  • Did you feel better after taking the time off?
  • Are you ready for the fall running season?
4 comments on “Recharging is Done – I Ran 3.1 Today! 9/1/12

  1. I plan to give a write up of my monthly training like you do. Hoping it’ll keep me motivated and on track through the winter. Great job!! 🙂

  2. All I can say is wow! Sub 8s, sweet run man! I guess a little R & R helps a body good, eh?! I’m hard at it still, I back off the week of the USAF Half Marathon, hoping 2 days rest does a body good (actually 3 if you don’t count the 2 miler the day before the race). I also step up my base run to 10 miles that week too, which I will hold until the MCM. I wish I was seeing 8:30s here, but I’m not so I’m heading towards staying in the 9s with a couple of 8s and I may get my mark.

    After taking time off I am unsure, since starting just over 2 years ago I’ve only had a month of down time, when I had to because of sciatic nerve issues. I had 3 months of Physical Terrorism. Then still, I ran a Tough Mudder and a couple of 7+ mile trail runs before I was “good to go” but I still have a twinge in my left ham, radiating up and down my leg.

    I don’t know if I felt better after that time off, because I felt like I lost so much. It was difficult to run a mile, so my cardio went away, which took a few weeks to re-get.

    I believe I am ready for the fall season, the first test is the USAF Half Marathon in two weeks. I then have a 7.45 mile Trail Run (I finish a grand slam series and should get an award), then MCM. I have no plans after the MCM, so I may step-back from 10 mile base runs to 7, and focus on 5k times, working my speed all next year. I turn 50 next year, so it would be nice to run a 50 miler next year to be in line with that, there are several to choose from. I don’t know, but fall, I’m good! 🙂

    Again, glad you got reenergized, looking great man! 😀

    • Thanks Smiddy – I actually probably should have taken a full week off, from my experience you don’t really loose any conditioning in that short amount of time, but I couldn’t I was chomping at the bit to run today and just gave in to it ;-). I have been lifting weights and doing the PT stretches that I learned for my hamstrings and hips many years ago. Then at night I am pretty much glued to a heating pad to get the hip some extra heat.

      From the sounds of your training you are doing fine and you have a plan in place that includes rest, I will be interested to hear how you do with your half-marathon and your trail race series. suggestion – After MCM go into maintenance running for 2-4 weeks you have been hitting it hard this year and just run according to what you want to do that week/day instead of following training plan. You have earned some easier running 🙂

      I thought about doing that and gave up as not a great idea for me, but you already are running longer distances, so you can do it!!!

I moderate all comments, if it is inappropriate it will not be published.

