5.0 and 5.0 Today 9/7/12

Today was a little different, since we only have two cars and three people who need to use them, we have to be flexible in our planning. So this morning I drove TheWife to work and decided to go for Bennie’s long walk over on the Bond Brook Trails – where I run the 5K Trail Races.

I didn’t realize before how different the trails look when you walk on them versus when you are racing. I know then I am racing I am so focused on where I am putting my feet and going faster, that I don’t look around at the scenery all that much.

Augusta Trail’s – Bond Brook Recreation Area is actually a very beautiful place to take a walk.

Here are photos I took while I walked parts of the course.

We ended up walking for almost 2 hours and I figure it was at least 5.0 miles.

After we got home, I did a little work and then went for my 5.0 mile Middle Road Run. During the run I really felt tired (I wonder why?) and wished that I had run the reasonably flat Notta Road course instead. It was good practice running on tired legs and forcing myself to keep going. My splits were:

  • Shepard Road – 7:54
  • Middle Road – 13:54 (5:20)
  • Town Office – 27:44 (14:29)
  • Mile 4.0 – 35:09 (7:24)
  • Finish – 44:41 (9:32)

This was definitely one of those runs, where you have to fight to keep going, but I didn’t stop and kept the pace sub 9:00, so I was satisfied with the run. It was one of those mental toughening runs, that you need every once in a while to appreciate the good ones even more.

I am still trying out my old Newton’s and am very happy with how they are working again. I am going to try to do a post on that later this weekend or the next rainy day.

RunLog 9-7-12

One comment on “5.0 and 5.0 Today 9/7/12

I moderate all comments, if it is inappropriate it will not be published.

