Good Double Workout 9-11-12

IMG_0327Today was a double workout and the first one was tough, but the second one while it was only 4.5 miles was even tougher.

However, I finished at least 11.0 miles total for the day, like I said I would in my I Remember post from this morning.

In the Morning

I went to the Colby Track and did an interval workout with my Stepson-In-Law – Sean.

Well I should say I watched his back during a lot of the workout. He is half my age and a LOT faster than I will ever be again.

That said I had fun and enjoyed working out with someone else, it is a nice change of pace to do a workout and have someone to talk with, in between hard sets.

Plus it is a chance to get to know him a little better and he gets to know me better.


Colby Track Photo

Intervals all had a 1/4 mile cool-down in between sets, the sets that I took off, I jogged the slow lap with Sean.

Warm-up: 1.0 – 8:48

Mile – 7:14: I was definitely feeling the faster 13.1 from yesterday.

  1. 1/4 – 1:27: This one really hurt and I haven’t run this fast in many, many years. I wanted to see if I still had a sub 90:00 second quarter in me – yep everything hurt Smile.
  2. 1/4 – 1:40: I ran a lot more comfortably on this one and didn’t push as hard!
  3. 1/4 – DNR: Took this off, my hamstring and piriformis were squawking a bit at me, they didn’t like this fast a pace, but I knew that they would be.
  4. 1/4 – 1:37: Felt pretty decent on this one
  5. 1/4 – DNR
  6. 1/4 – 1:39: Last fast quarter for me, things were barking pretty good and I decided to shut it down, better safe than sorry.
  7. 1/4 – DNR
  8. 1/4 – DNR

Cool-down: 1.0 – 9:32

Afterwards we were stretching on the infield and I got this strange urge to take off my shoes and do some barefoot strides on the artificial grass. So I did.

8 x 100 yards at a good pace and they felt great – by the way I didn’t notice nearly as much discomfort, so I have a feeling some of my issues definitely have to do with my poor running form and mechanics. This was also the first time I have run barefoot in a while, something that I am going to have to do more of. It really made me focus how I was landing.

Sean stayed in the high 70’s to low 80’s for most of his quarters with the final one being 76. It was the first time he has been to the track in a while and he looked pretty wiped at the end. What I would give to be able to run that fast again.

Oh well – that ain’t happening at age 55. Green with envy

However, I am very happy with my part of the track workout today. I ran in lane 4, because lanes 1-3 are closed to general running. The MacMillan pace guide has me doing 400 meters at my current 5K race pace in 1:24, but running in an outside lane and doing quarters instead of 400’s – I think that I was pretty close to that pace. 

Either way I felt good about my speed and know that it was smart to shut down the fast quarters when I did – I would hate to pop or pull something right now. It would be terrible timing.

Besides this workout was more about getting Sean some speed work in and he did a great job.

  • Total miles for me 6.7
  • For Sean: 7.7

So what did we do? We made plans to come back next week!

In the afternoon

I ran 4.5 miles to give me my 11 plus for the day. My legs were toast, everything hurt, but I remembered those people from 11 years ago and kept going – I had to. It was one of those runs that meant a lot to me and one I would finish no matter what – just the way it is. No it wasn’t fast, but I did it.

My day’s total was 11.2 miles.

I sure am glad that I have a day-off scheduled for tomorrow Smile, I definitely need it!

RunLog 9-11-12

2 comments on “Good Double Workout 9-11-12

  1. Love those intervals! I did my first set of intervals this year with the local running store. Fleet Feet puts on a speed work clinic through the summer that is free at the local high school. I was doing much slower than you though, so while you’re wishing you were faster…;)

    I have 1/2 dose tonight, I was thinking of doing 1/4s, but also wondered if I could do a mild-mini tempo @ 8:50/mi. The quarters I went up to sub-8 the last time I did them, so at the moment, while my dinner settles, and digests, I will ponder which to do. This is of course on the hamster wheel. 😀 I’m leaning towards the 1/4s…

    I have never ran with anyone before. That must be very motivating (or frustrating) to do. I may have to consider doing that with one of my neighbors.

    I retired August of 2001, a month before. I worked at Fort Meade, and “my guys” I know where working 24/7 I’m sure during this time. I had serious separation anxiety, because I felt like I should be there too, carrying the load. I felt a little helpless, but I did sublimate the situation and I salute our men and women and honor those who’ve fallen in my own way too, your way is pretty kewl Harold! Thanks for sharing it!

I moderate all comments, if it is inappropriate it will not be published.

