AVR Week In Review–9/16/12

P9160009This was the best week of running weather-wise of the year! Fall is definitely in the air at nights it is getting into the 40’s and and 60’s/70’s during the day. I know that I love running in this weather!

Today I think I found out some of the reason for my hip hurting so much lately and you can read about it in my daily runlog post from today.

Overall, it was one of the better weeks I have had in a while and it felt good to get back over 50 miles again and get back on the track to work on running faster than I am used to.

Running Summary This Week

Weekly Review 9-16-12

This week in a word: Discovery

Top 10 Posts

Here are my top ten posts for the past week based on page views:

  1. Tommie Copper Sleeve Review – First Impressions
  2. Nike Free 4.0 v2 – After 50 Miles
  3. My Transition Plan to Minimalist Running Shoes
  4. Newton Gravity–After 50 Miles
  5. The New Nike+ Website is Up
  6. First Run in Asics Gel Blur 33 – 2/16/12
  7. Tommie Copper – Is Working
  8. New Blog Focus–2013 Marine Corps Marathon
  9. 6 Things I have Learned While Running
  10. 50 Mile Review of Altra Instincts

My Favorite post from the week: The Power of “I WILL”!

Weight

I bounced between 146 and 150, which is where I want to stay. Especially, since my goal weight for the year was 155!

Injuries

No real injuries, but I have continued to experience a lot of discomfort in my hamstrings, butt cheeks (periformis) and right hip – not enough to make me stop running, but enough to not be totally comfortable when I run.

Running Shoes

Newton Gravity

They now have 261 miles on them and no real wear on the soles. They are becoming my go to running shoes, especially for the roads. I seem to run very comfortably and a little faster in them, than I do with other shoes. Although I don’t consider the Gravity’s to be a “perfect” shoe, they have made it so that I want to look a lot closer at another pair of Newton’s, when it comes time to look for new shoes in a month or two.

Altra Instinct

Now have 133 on them. I took them out of the closet and ran a few runs in the Altra’s, including some trail running. They are good for paths or dirt roads, but on single-track, rocky, sandy, or muddy trails, they are not the best solution. They are definitely more road shoes. I plan to alternate them with my Gravity’s over the next few weeks to see how they feel in comparison.

Adidas Adizero Sonic 3

No runs in them this week.

Adidas Vigor TR

No runs in them this week, but I know from now on that I will be using them on trails, they do make a difference.

Running Goals

I reviewed my 2012 running goals 2012 Mid-Year Goal Review and Update and updated them.

The reality is that

I now know that my running form is contributing to my discomfort in the back of my upper legs – my butt cheeks and hips. When I correct this, hopefully, the discomfort will go away.

I finished the Bond Brook 5K Trail Race series for me and improved my time each race, so I was happy with that, even though I didn’t break 26:00 for the course. 

Thank you for your support and reading posts from "A Veteran Runnah" again this week.

Run While You Can and Keep smiling – good things will happen! Smile

Originally written by Harold Shaw and published at "A Veteran Runnah" © 2012 – All Rights Reserved. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Harold Shaw and A Veteran Runnah" with appropriate and specific directions or links to the original content.

I moderate all comments, if it is inappropriate it will not be published.

