A Quality Track Workout!–9/18/12

IMG_0352Today was my second week of going to the track with Sean my Stepson-In-Law Smile. Today was a lot different than last week!

I didn’t run a (fast for me) half marathon the day before and just ran an easy 6.0 instead.

This made a huge difference in how my legs felt today! Sean pushes me to do better than I ever would by myself – of that there is no doubt. He starts about 5-10 seconds behind me, which forces me run faster at the end of the lap.

On the left is a picture of my logged my workout. My planned workout was a sub 7:00 minute mile and I wanted to keep my 8x 1/4 between 1:30 and 1:40 with a full 1/4 lap of rest in between. Sean was doing a LOT faster workout than I was!

  • P91800161.0 Warm-up
  • 1.0 – 6:49 My best mile time of the year so far.
  1. 1/4 – 1:25:20 I haven’t run this fast in a long, long time
  2. 1/4 – 1:33:73
  3. 1/4 – 1:32:48
  4. 1/4 – 1:32:22
  5. 1/4 – 1:35:16
  6. 1/4 – 1:34:33
  7. 1/4 – 1:30:83 This is the lap that Sean was filming me on.
  8. 1/4 – 1:31:99 Last lap Smile

I was very happy with the quality and consistency of the workout! I haven’t run this fast in a long time and it was a little faster than I expected! Sean did push me, but at the same time I was motivated to run better than last week.

After the track workout was over, we decided to do some barefoot strides on the infield.

Barefoot Running 9-18-12

The barefoot strides felt good, but watching the film, I need to focus more on turning my right foot in, like I did when I was running on the track, which seemed to make a difference during my interval workout. Better form = better running.

Overall, this was easily my best track workout of the year!

RunLog 9-18-12

5 comments on “A Quality Track Workout!–9/18/12

I moderate all comments, if it is inappropriate it will not be published.

